Posted by: nancyisanders | June 14, 2012

Book Launch Party: Frederick Douglass for Kids

Welcome back to my book launch party to celebrate the release of my newest book, Frederick Douglass for Kids!

LET’S PARTY!
Today’s stop on my virtual Book Launch Party is taking place at the informative site of Fay Levow of Launch Pad Publishing.

Visit Faye’s site today to learn more about Frederick Douglass and tips on how you can write for the exciting genre of Creative Nonfiction.

PRIZES
Today’s contest is a another chance to win a free critique of your picture book OR the first 5 pages of your manuscript. For about 10 years I was an editor with a professional manuscript critique service and since then I’ve helped judge contests (both local and national) for SCBWI as well as do manuscript critiques for various writing conferences I teach at. I love to help writers polish their manuscripts!

Just post a comment here today to say hi, or answer the question below and I’ll put your name in the hat today for another chance to win the prize. (A winner will be announced on Monday, June 18 here on my blog.)

Question:
Have you ever visited our nation’s capital or your state capital? Who did you learn about during that trip that impacted our country in their era?

About Frederick Douglass
Here on my blog during the book launch party, I’m sharing photographs I took with my husband Jeff and our son Ben as we traveled through the eastern states where Frederick Douglass once lived.

One of the cities we visited was Washington, D.C. Frederick Douglass and his family lived here for many years.

After the Civil War was over, Douglass was appointed to a number of important positions by various presidents. He and his wife Anna moved here to this house from Rochester, New York.

This was the church that Douglass and Anna attended in DC, the Metropolitan A.M.E. Church. What a special visit we had walking through the rooms, looking at the beautiful stained glass windows, and seeing the sanctuary. We discovered that Frederick Douglass even had his own pew that he sat in, marked with a plaque, and we got to sit there too. Wow! Talk about amazing…to be able to actually sit where this influential man once sat in church.

This is a pair of beautiful candlesticks that Douglass gave to this church when he was a member. They were currently under repair, as was most of the building. After all, this building was here in the day of Frederick Douglass and he lived 150 years ago in the Civil War era!

We also visited the White House. During the Civil War, Douglass came here twice…once to ask President Lincoln for equal rights for black troops (remember the movie, Glory?) The second time, Lincoln invited Douglass to come to give advice toward the end of the war.

Each step we took in DC were amazing new discoveries about this great man. We took lots of photographs that were able to be included in the actual book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.


Responses

  1. Hmm. I’ve been to the nation’s capital and the state capital. I probably learned the most about Abraham Lincoln when visiting Springfield, IL, though. : ) Good question.

    • Wow, I’ve never been to Springfield. That sounds like a great place to visit! Thanks for sharing, Beth.

  2. Lovely house of the Douglass’s! I have been to D.C. numerous times as I used to teach in Northern Virginia, about 20 min away from D.C. I enjoyed the Smithsonians and touring the White House, too, but my favorite was the tour of the FBI!

    • I didn’t know you lived near DC, Tina! I grew up north of there. But I never toured the FBI. Sounds exciting!

  3. I first visited Washington as a tenth-grader on a field trip. As I recall, President Lincoln was most awe-inspiring.

    • How wonderful that your school took field trips there! What a great memory to have, Virginia. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I awarded you The Inspiring Blogger Award. Thanks for sharing such great information.

    • Wow, I’m so honored! Thanks so much Kristi!!!

      • Thanks Nancy for all you do educating kids on our history.


Leave a Reply

Categories

