Posted by: nancyisanders | July 5, 2012

Pinterest for Picture Books

Do you use Pinterest?

Pinterest is an online bulletin board of sorts. It’s a way to bookmark sites that have interesting things you like.

As a picture book writer, I’ve grown to love using Pinterest! It helps me get organized. How?

One of the ways I use it is that I created a board of my favorite picture books. So when I’m exploring books online and see a favorite picture book or a new picture book I want to read, with just a couple of clicks I can pin it to my Pinterest board: Celebrate Picture Books. Later, I go back to this board and refer to it to order in new picture books from the library, purchase new picture books to use to teach classes or writing workshops, or buy a picture book for a friend.

Another way I use it is to organize research I’m gathering for a nonfiction picture book idea I have. I create boards for different topics. I also organize craft or activity ideas that might come in handy for building a website for one of my upcoming picture books. Plus, I organize links to writing tools that could be helpful for picture book writers.

One of the agents at my agency recommended all the authors use Pinterest, and I’m glad she did. I recommend that you sign up and learn how to use it, too, if you’re a picture book author. Because that’s another thing it’s good for. Networking!

Just go to Pinterest and follow the directions to sign up. A couple of the steps are a little tricky, but it’s worth pressing through because after that, it’s pretty simple.

Then click to follow me. And when I get the alert that you did, I’ll click to follow you back. What a great way to share our favorite picture books!

Happy pinning!

Join the Picture Book Celebration!!!
If you’d like to join in the celebration of picture books going on all summer long here on my blog, click here to find out how to hop on board.

If you’d like to post my logo on your blog, click here to find out how to do this.

If you’d like to visit other sites of picture book writers who are joining in the celebration by posting on their blogs about picture books this summer, click here to find the list. And follow the directions there to add your own blog to the list, too!


Responses

  1. I have a question about our picture book celebration activities, Nancy. When we post a review of a pb, are we automatically allowed to post a picture of the cover or do we have to get permission from the publisher?

  2. Hi Ev, I never get permission from the publisher to post an image of a book’s cover. I don’t know the exact rules, but I’ve never heard of that being an issue.


Leave a Reply

Categories

