Posted by: nancyisanders | August 6, 2012

Two New Favorite Picture Books

My husband Jeff and I popped into a local Barnes and Nobles yesterday so I headed for the children’s section with notepad and pen in hand.

The front display in the children’s section was overflowing with “back to school” picture books, so I grabbed a stack, found a comfy chair, and sat down to read, read, read.

To my delight I found two titles that became instant favorites, topping my starred reviews with 6+ stars each!

You Read to Me, I’ll Read to You is all about celebrating the joy and love of reading…together. Meant to be read aloud by two readers who take turns, the endearing rhymes are so catchy and meaningful that you just want to grab a friend and read this book aloud together!

Wild About Books is another picture book that celebrates the joy of reading. In this story, the librarian parks her book mobile at the library and all the animals in the zoo discover the fantastic love of everything books. In fact, they love reading so much they decide to become writers, too! The art is hilarious with their attempts at storywriting.

So add these to your summer list of must-reads!!! And if you have any favorite picture books you’re discovering, please let us know so we can read them too!


Responses

  1. These both sound delightful, Nancy. I’m sure they’ll be popular with both teachers and parents–not to mention kids, of course. 🙂

  2. I recommend all the SkippyJon Jones picturebooks! He’s a siamese cat who thinks he’s a chihuahua and all the stories are totally silly and will have you laughing out loud. There’s also lots of Spanish words mixed in with the English so children learn Spanish without even knowing it.

  3. My two-year old loves to say “Read To Me” when handing me a book and I love hearing her say it…’cause it means she’s learning to love reading and grateful for such good books to encourage more of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

