Posted by: nancyisanders | August 22, 2012

Picture Books and Poetry



The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing Poetry

by Nikki Moustaki

I’ve really enjoyed reading through this book on how to write poetry.

But I don’t just want to read about poetry.

I want to try writing it.

So I like to take trips to our local library and got out a whole bagful of children’s poetry books. I just go into the nonfiction aisle in the children’s section and browse through their poetry section.

Of course, I read titles by Jack Prelusky, the current king of children’s poetry, but I also like to read books I have at home by Shel Silverstein, the genius of children’s poetry, and Robert Louis Stevenson, the master of children’s poetry.

And then, after I practice writing short poems for children as I read through this how-to book on poetry, I also want to read entire picture books written in rhyme.

That’s my ultimate goal for studying poetry…to improve my skills at writing picture books in rhyme.

How is your picture books celebration coming along?


Responses

  1. So funny!!!!!!! I had to learn how not to write poetry or picture books in rhyme! 🙂 I was fed up with rhymes!
    Up to 2005 I only wrote songs and nursery rhymes, so my aim and pleasure was to be able to write with lots of words and lots of freedom !!!!!!!!

    Enjoy!

    (I have written rhymes in english too, not just in french!)

    • Oh my! You certainly have a poet’s heart!!!!

  2. I suppose so… never thought of it like that!!
    it has been more like if someone had cast a spell on me since I was very young… (could be an idea to write about!) even at school all my essays were in rhymes… So I am doing my best to shake them away!!! 🙂

    • Oh, why are you trying to get rid of them? I would recommend that you allow the rhymes to continue to fill your thoughts and come out in your writing. So few writers can think in rhyme like you can, so it is a true gift. Many of the best picture books are written in rhyme!!!

      • 🙂 🙂 😉
        I suppose I am fed up of rhymes ! In my eyes it is not “original” ! 🙂
        I believe I just need a change, explorate another way of expressing myself… allowing myself to write more then I used to write… Freedom…
        For the same reason I stopped writting songs and started writting picture books… slowly moving forward to bigger books.
        I believe for the same reason you are exploring rhymes!
        It is fun to have another challenge.
        For me being published without rhymes is my challenge!
        Don’t we always want to achieve new skills??? 🙂

        Well, I suppose you made me think ! And now… what are we going to eat tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

