Posted by: nancyisanders | November 12, 2012

Steps to Find an Agent: Part 6

At this point in my search for an agent, I made a 3-stage submission plan:

Stage 1: Make a simultaneous submission to every HUGE, MEGA agency on my list that I liked.

Stage 2: If all those got rejections, then start submitting simultaneous submissions to the Big NY agencies owned by one or two agents

Stage 3: If all those got rejections, then start submitting simultaneous submissions to the smaller agencies.

During this time, I did not submit my picture books to any publishers at all. I was focused strictly on submitting to agents. I wanted to give agents material that had never been seen by publishers.

I also belonged to a picture book critique group at this time where every 4-6 weeks it was my turn to submit a manuscript so I focused on writing a brand new picture book every single month or so. This really helped me strengthen my writing muscles as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

