Posted by: nancyisanders | January 12, 2013

Bloghop

HPIM6386

Today I’m participating in a bloghop where writers from all around the world are helping promote each other’s books!

My friend, Tina Cho, a children’s writer who lives in South Korea, is linking here to my site from her site. So if you’re stopping here after visiting Tina’s blog, welcome!!!

Today’s bloghop is called, “The Next Big Thing”! And the focus is on our newest writing projects. Mine is the recent publication of my how-to book for children’s writers, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books. It’s the second book in my series for children’s writers. (The first one in the series is the award-winning and ground-breaking book, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career.)

Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books

Where did the idea come from for the book?
Writing beginning readers (or early readers) and chapter books has been the bread and butter of my career. Each step of the way, however, when I tried to find how-to books on this type of writing, my search always hit dead ends. Sure, there was usually a 3-5 page section in every “how-to-write-for-children” book on this topic plus several Internet articles, but that was it.

No comprehensive book had ever been published that thoroughly covered this aspect of writing for children.

So now that I’ve written and published over 400 stories for the beginning reader and chapter book market, I decided it was time to share all the tricks and techniques of the trade I’ve learned along the journey. I want other children’s writers to experience the success I have, too!

(In the picture at the top of this post, you can see some of my beginning readers and chapter books that have been published over the years, along with my brand new how-to book in the middle!)

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Three months. When I really sit down to work on a book of this scope, that’s the normal time frame I take at writing eight hours a day, 4-5 days a week.

What other books would you compare this book to on the market today?
There is no other book written on this topic! This is IT!!!!

Yet with the current impact of the Common Core State Standards on the world of children’s publishing, educational publishers and some trade publishers are racing to provide leveled readers in the form of beginning readers and chapter books to teachers, parents, and kids like never before.

Little did I know that my book would be such a timely book for today’s world of beginning readers and chapter books. There are even more opportunities today for children’s writers to experience breakthrough and earn a solid career writing for this market than ever before.

My hope is that with my book, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books, you will be inspired and equipped to write successfully for this market.

Would this book be a good book to recommend for a children’s writer in general? Or does it just deal with a very specific niche?
On one hand, this book is about writing for a very specific niche, the beginning readers and chapter books market. It goes into great detail about the history of this market, opportunities in the current market, and how to write successfully for this market.

But on the other hand, because this book showcases the inside world of writing for children and working with editors and earning an actual income in the publishing industry, the real-life examples and tools and techniques taught can influence every single children’s writer in a positive way.

I recommend this book for every person who wants to write for kids. It will impact your career in a powerful way, even if you decide not to try your hand at writing for this particular market.

Thanks for joining in on this bloghop today!

And here are the links to blogs of some of my writer friends. Stop on by and say hi! Check out their newest adventures in the world of writing.

Nicole Snitselaar

Beth MacKinney at The Last Draft


Responses

  1. How neat, Nancy, that this is the only book of its kind! I hope it does well in the market! Will you be teaching any classes using this? And thanks sooo much for participating in this blog hop!

    • Congrats on your new book, too, Tina! And thanks for inviting me to join the blog hop. And yes, I’m scheduling in person workshops to teach about beginning readers…if you’d ever be interested in an online workshop, let me know! I’m sure we can figure out something between South Korea and California time. :o)

  2. My turn to thank you for this Blog hop… took me severall days, but I enjoyed it ! 🙂

    • Oh I’m glad, Nicole! And your blog post looks awesome. Congratulations on your newest book project!!!

      • I can just say… I’m lucky !!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your new book, Nancy! You are such a talented writer, and I really appreciate how you’re so willing to share with other writers the strategies and tips you’ve learned from your own experiences. I hope lots of writers will take advantage of your excellent book to increase their own chances of success.

    • Thank you so much for all your encouraging words and your support for my new book, Ev!!!

  4. Great post, Nancy. I have a better idea of what your book is about now, and it does look like a timely one. : )

  5. Hi Nancy,
    I enjoyed reading about all of your books, and was especially intrigued with your latest book–Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books. Tina told me about the book in late December. I just tried to order the book from my Canadian Amazon account, but the site says it’s temporarily out-of-stock. Thought you might like to know that. I noticed in Tina’s post today, that you are her mentor as well which is wonderful. I’ll be signing up to follow your blog posts. Participating in a blog hop is a great way to connect with other like-minded writers.
    All the best,
    Tracy

    • It’s so nice to hear from you, Tracy! And thanks for the info about Canadian Amazon…not sure why that happened, but hopefully it will be in stock, soon. And I peeked at your site…wow what an amazing artist you are!!!! It’s great to connect and thank you, Tina, for putting us together!

      • I’ll keep checking, hopefully Amazon.ca will have it sooner rather than later.
        Thanks for the lovely compliment. Best, Tracy

      • Tracy, I called my publisher at CreateSpace and they said that Amazon.ca only sells my book through resellers. That’s why it’s “out of stock.” They thought that you should be able to go directly to Amazon.com (even in Canada) and order my book from there right away. Does that sound like it might work for you?

      • Thank you for the added info, Nancy. I’ll check it out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

