Posted by: nancyisanders | January 28, 2013

More Books on Writing for Children

As I’ve been digging around on the Internet, here are a few more how-to-write books for children’s authors that look like they address plot in some shape or form. (And they just look like such great books to read!)

Second Sight: An Editor’s Talks on Writing, Revising, and Publishing Books for Children and Young Adults by Cheryl B. Klein

Story Sparkers: A Creativity Guide for Children’s Writers by Marcia Thornton Jones

The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Books for Children by Nancy Lamb

Writing it Right! How Successful Children’s Authors Revise and Sell Their Stories by Sandy Asher

Writing Magic: Creating Stories that Fly by Gail Carson Levine


Responses

  1. I bought your book “Yes I can write children books” and “Show me a story, writing your own picture book” (nancy loewen)
    🙂

  2. Gail Carson Levine’s book is geared toward children but she shares some wonderful ideas. My 9 year old and I both enjoyed reading it!

    • Thanks for letting us know, Cathy. I thought Gail’s book was for people who write for children, but it’s good to know it’s geared more for children who want to write.

  3. I have “Writing it Right! It’s a great reference book for my writer’s toolbox. 🙂

  4. P.S. Nancy, by the way, this week I read an interview you did with Children’s Writers E-Newsletter back a few years back, and your interview inspired me.
    Thanks,
    Tracy 🙂

    • Oh I’m so glad you’re inspired, Tracy!!!! And thanks for letting us know how much you like Writing it Right.


Leave a Reply

Categories

