Posted by: nancyisanders | April 2, 2013

Take Control of Your Writing Life

The life of a writer has many unpredictable elements to it.

One unpredictable element is the seasons a writer goes through.

You just never know when you’ll get a string of rejections and nothing seems to be happening to your writing career. It feels like winter.

And then suddenly a bunch of editors are interested in your manuscripts and the joys of summer are yours.

We may not be able to control the seasons we’ll go through as a writer, but we CAN control what we do during these different seasons. We can choose to be like a deciduous tree and shut down and wait until something miraculous happens…

Or we can choose to be like an evergreen tree and keep on keeping on through the winter until spring comes again.

Over the years I’ve had various times of winter as a writer. Writing has been my part-time career (I’ve been a full-time Mom as my main career). I’ve earned a part-time income for the past 20 years of $20,000 or more per year. Many years it’s been significantly higher than that. How have I maintained this income even during winter seasons?

I’ve followed the strategy of what I call the Triple Crown of Success. I’ll tell more about that in the next post.


Responses

  1. Nancy, thanks for the reminder that all writers ,even successful ones like you, go through seasons of plenty and seasons of drought. It is encouraging to know!
    Audrey

    • Yes, Audrey, I still get “winters” to pass through as a writer!!!

  2. This is so encouraging, Nancy. What do you do to stay motivated in these winters? In the midst of the trials of life: economic, health, family, etc. how do you stay on track? How do you keep the demands of life from sapping your energy and spirit? I ask because even though you know me personally I wonder how many other writers struggle with this and what you do to stay the course. It’s so easy to throw in the towel and believe that our writing doesn’t matter in these hard times, these ‘winters’. Inquiring minds want to know, haha!

    • Hi Val! These are great questions. I’ll really try to answer them in my next post! So keep an eye out for that. Hugs, Nancy

      • Thanks Nancy!!

  3. I appreciate your questions Val…many times I have asked myself the same ones! I look forward to Nancy’s next post and what she has to say.

  4. Great questions, Val! I’d like to know too.
    And Nancy, thank you for sharing about how much you make. That is so refreshing to see. I don’t think I’ve read anywhere where someone would discuss this with aspiring authors. It’s encouraging.
    I’m also encouraged because I still work, and it’s good to know there may be hope for me to become a published author. Well, I’ve written and been published in painting magazines, but to be a book author would be a dream come true.
    Oh, and I just read your workshop interview thanks to Tina. And I’ve downloaded it and will be adding it to my “Writing for Children” binder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

