Posted by: nancyisanders | May 21, 2013

Try New Genres

HPIM6148

I like to quilt. Over the years, I’ve made 20 or more quilts.

For awhile, this quilt pattern was my favorite. I made lots of quilts with this pattern. I think it’s called the Shoo-Fly Quilt.

After some time, though, I felt like trying a new pattern. I made a log cabin quilt. I didn’t really like it that much. It was hard for me to get the patches even and straight. And I realized I liked patterns with triangles more than rectangles or squares.

So then I tried making a Crazy Nine Patch quilt. I really like it! I’m working on my 4th one now!

Writing for children is like quilting. It’s okay to try out different genre and writing for different markets. You might discover you don’t write very well in one genre. That’s okay. Try a different one.

You might find you like writing in a certain genre and stay there for awhile. That’s great! Write to your heart’s content, learning all the tricks and techniques as you pump out manuscript after manuscript in that genre.

But then if you feel like moving on and trying something new, go ahead! Even if you’re not very good at it at first, if you like it, try writing another manuscript and then another. You might find a genre that’s a good fit, after all.


Responses

  1. Great analogy, Nancy! That makes a lot of sense and reminds us not to throw the baby out with the bath water!

    • Ha ha, Val! Love that image of the baby with the bath water. :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories

