Posted by: nancyisanders | June 10, 2013

Write a MG Novel in One Month Workshop

6294960037_fe704837bd

Wanna hear an amazing story?

Two years ago I read a couple of middle grade novels:
The Whipping Boy
Crispin: The Cross of Lead

I read those books just for pleasure, but as I read them, I got really really excited. Why? Because I realized I had just read a couple of winners! I knew they were winners, not just because both of them won the top award a middle grade novel can win (The Newbery Award) but I also knew they were winners because I could see past the storyline and understand clearly the techniques the authors used to write these books.

Lightbulbs went off in my head and I got it…I really got it! I was able to identify clear strategies and techniques each of these authors had used to create award-winning middle grade novels.

I was so excited with this, that I decided to offer a 4-session workshop in my home to learn how to write a middle grade novel in one month using the same techniques these authors did to write theirs. I planned on writing a middle grade novel, too, at the same time.

So I did. A bunch of ladies gathered at my house and we worked our way through the workshop over the next 4 weeks.

The result? I wrote a middle grade novel. (So did many of them.)

That middle grade novel was just for fun. To get my feet wet. I self-published it, too! Just for fun. Mystery on Warrior Ridge takes place on the family farm where I grew up.

After that one month workshop was over, I decided to try it again…write a brand new middle grade novel in one month. This time I studied the market more carefully and tried to write a timely novel that could fit into today’s market.

And then I took a daring step. I submitted it to my agent.

And my agent accepted it and started sending it on its rounds. Yay!

Then I started my next middle grade novel in a month. (Okay, I admit it…I was hooked!)

But somewhere in there, I had an opportunity to try out for a chance to write an early chapter book (which is a young middle grade novel). So I followed all those strategies I’d developed during this workshop…and landed the contract to write books in that series!

My first published novels/chapter books for kids. Yay!!!!

So why am I telling you all this?

Because after I held that workshop in my home, I recorded a 4-session audio workshop complete with 25 handouts and it’s now offered for sale at the Working Writer’s Club. It’s real strategies I use to write my novels for kids. It’s real handouts I use to brainstorm and develop story content and track my progress as I write.

And YOU can purchase this workshop and follow the same strategies that have helped me gain publication in this market so that YOU can move forward in your writing career, too! Here’s the link:

HOW TO WRITE A MIDDLE GRADE NOVEL IN ONE MONTH


Responses

  1. Is this a self-paced workshop or a time-centered one with everyone together?

    • Self paced. You do it at your own pace.

  2. The workshop at your home, was the best thing that I ever experienced in my new writing career!!!!
    Margaret

    • Dear Margaret, thank you so much for you kind words! I’m so excited you learned so much. It’s amazing how this workshop has changed my writing career, too. I’m now writing books like this steadily for publishers and never thought I’d be doing this!

  3. What specifically do I need “computer-wise?”
    Thank you.

    • I’m not exactly sure…to find out, contact Suzanne Lieurance at the Working Writer’s Club where the audio download is available. If you don’t know how to get in touch with her, just let me know! E-mail me at jeffandnancysatgmaildotcom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

