Posted by: nancyisanders | August 1, 2013

My Next Big Thing

Yes 1 Front Cover

Thanks for joining me here at My Next Big Thing, a global blog tour that has been started to showcase authors and illustrators and their works-in-progress. Here’s my batch of Q and A.

Q: Where did you get the photograph for the new cover of your book, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career?
A:
People always ask me this when they hear I self-published a book. CreateSpace makes cover design pretty easy. You just take your own photographs, upload them to their template, and you’re set to go. (Or if you prefer, you can use one of their pictures.) But I prefer to take my own.

I’m not a big camera techie, but I like to take photos with my digital camera like most people these days.

I decided that for the cover of my how-to-write books, I wanted to showcase the baby quilts that I’ve made.

So for this cover, I went bold. I just made a pink and black quilt for my niece and nephew and their new baby (and I made one for myself as well–hey! I never know when I’ll be a grandma one of these days!). So I decided to feature my new pink and black quilt as the cover.

First I spread out my quilt on the floor in my living room. It hadn’t been down there for 10 seconds before my cat Pitterpat decided to come join in the fun. So I snapped a picture. Here it is:

HPIM7242

And before I knew it, my orange and white cat, Sandman, decided this was worth checking into. So he came and sat on the quilt too. I snapped another picture:

HPIM7241

By that time, Pitterpat got bored, so she ran off to look at the hummingbird flitting around outside the window. Now it was just Sandman on the quilt. So I snapped another picture:

HPIM7240

But now I was ready to get serious about photographs for my book’s cover. I thought it would be a nice touch to arrange some of my published books on the quilt, so I put them there. By now Sandman had fallen asleep, so he was still in the picture. Here it is:

HPIM7239

By this time, the hummingbird had flown away. So Pitterpat decided to come back and check out everything going on the quilt again. I snapped another picture and viola! I got the photograph for the new cover of my book. Can you see Pitterpat and Sandman?

Yes 1 Front Cover

Q: Do you plan on writing more how-to-write books for children’s writers?
A:
Oh yes! I’m working hard on my next one already. Once again, I don’t want to let the cat out of the bag too early, but here’s a hint about it. I like to write these books on topics that have never been covered before for children’s writers. I like to base these books on real experiences from my 20 years writing books for children. My first book (the one shown here) is all about an insider’s look at the children’s book publishing industry. I share successful strategies on getting published that I’ve never seen in any other how-to book for writers.

My second book is unique as well, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books. There is no other book on that topic and once again, I based all the info on my years of writing successfully for the market of beginning readers and chapter books.

For my third book, it will cover a topic no other book has yet covered for children’s writers as well. But I don’t want to say what it is because I don’t want someone else grabbing the idea and coming out with their version first. Just stay tuned and I’ll let you know when it’s going to be out. Hopefully next summer!

In the meantime, I’m getting this first book out again. With its new chapter on Common Core State Standards.

And that’s it for “My Next Big Thing.” Thanks for joining in on the fun.


Responses

  1. Love the quilt! In some ways, writing is like creating a quilt. You take all the pieces and assemble them with skill to create something new and unique.

    • Yes, Beth, I totally agree! I think that’s why I enjoy quilting (and gardening) so much, especially when I’m working on a particularly tight deadline. There are so many parallels!!!

  2. Hi Nancy,

    I have the older version of your book, the one without the common core chapter. Is there any chance of you selling only that chapter from your website? I’d love to print it out, read it (of course!) and then put it with my book for future reference.

    • Hi Sara! I’m going to offer the chapter on common core for a free pdf download file as soon as my book comes out. That way writers like you can have it without having to purchase anything extra. Glad you’ve got my book…hope it’s helping you LOTS!

      • Oh I forgot to mention that I’ll offer it here on my blog in Sept and also on the book’s website at http://yesyoucanlearn.wordpress.com

      • Thank you, Nancy! (Sorry for the delay; I just now saw this.) And yes, I found your book fascinating. Now I just have to put it into practice… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

