Posted by: nancyisanders | August 9, 2013

Highlights: Wanna Have Some Fun?

Okay, how many of you remember going to the doctor’s office as a little kid and looking for the hidden pictures in the magazine, Highlights?

I do! In fact yesterday I went to the eye doctor to get new glasses and there that magazine was sitting on the top of the coffee table in the waiting area.

As a writer it’s prestigious to get published in the Highlights magazine. And it’s tough, too. But I know many authors who successfully get published credits by submitting to Highlights. They don’t pay much and I think they purchase all rights, but it’s a big boost to your published credits as a children’s author if you can add them to your resume.

With all that in mind, I have decided that NOW, yes NOW, is the time that I’m going to write something and submit it to Highlights just for fun to see if I can get published in their magazine.

And I thought it might be extra fun to invite all of you along on the journey. I’ll share the exact process I go through to do this, so you can do it too.

So…wanna have some fun?!

Then follow along here on my blog for the next few days and weeks and let’s write and submit something for Highlights!

FIRST STEP
If you haven’t done this already, check out the current needs at Highlight’s magazine.

Print these out and put them in a manila file folder.

I did. In fact, here’s a picture of my file folder. Of course, my writing buddy Sandman had to sit on it since it’s my newest current project and he wants to get involved, too!

IMG_0891

SECOND STEP
Go on a scavenger hunt and find as many current back issues as you can. Check out your local thrift store and even call your local doctor’s office to see if they’re getting rid of any! Plus, you can check out your local library, but the goal is to get some copies of your own to keep so we can really dig through them in the days ahead.

Here we gooooooo!


Responses

  1. Sounds like fun. Count me in. Chris

    • Yay, Chris!!! It should be a fun adventure. And great learning experience, too.

  2. Good luck on your adventure! I just recently submitted my first story to Highlights and sit here, fingers crossed, waiting to hear something…

    • Good for you, Donna! Let us know if you hear good news!!!!!

      • Thanks, Nancy, I will!

  3. I love the way you include pictures of your cat! My dog, Joplin, lays underneath my desk while I’m at my computer. She’s 50 pounds, so even if she wanted to hoist herself on top of the file folders, I wouldn’t let her! She does keep me in good company of what would otherwise be a very, very solitary path, however. Pets can be so comical too, and brighten our days.

    BTW, I don’t have an interest in being published in Highlights, but thank you for doing this for everyone who does. When I reach that stage of my journey and feel that I can mentor someone, I will do something like this as well.

    Peggy

    • Oh Joplin sounds like such a wonderful writing buddy! Thanks so much for sharing, Peggy.

  4. Hi Nancy,

    Please count me in too! I would love to follow along with you! I’ve been trying to break in with them for a while.

    I am SO looking forward to it!

    Irene S. Roth
    http://irenesroth.wordpress.com

    • Yay, Irene! Glad you’re hopping on board.

  5. This is such perfect timing Nancy! I haven’t submitted anything yet and this will be a nice “hand holding” experience to get me used to submitting! I’m excited!

    • Oh Phyllis, I’m so excited that this will be your first big adventure into the world of submission! Glad you’re coming along on the journey.

  6. I would love to join in too Nancy. I am largely published in the NF educational area as well, so having Highlights as a writing credit would be excellent for my published works list. Though I am a Canadian, my studio is in the Himalayas of India so getting copies of back issues may be a problem. But who doesn’t like a challenge eh?
    I look forward to following along.

    • Stephen, that’s great that you’re joining in from the Himalayas! And I hope you can find some issues. Let us know if you’re successful!

  7. I’ll be following along as well. I think it is a good idea to subscribe to the magazine and read all the issues. I have about five years of Highlights at my house and have sold a non-fiction article and a story to them.

    • Rosi, your idea of subscribing to them is great. And big congratulations on your success at selling them both a NF and a F story. Wow! That’s awesome!!!!

  8. I am with you on this. I have submitted before and have the rejections as proof but it is still my number one goal to get published there.

    • Terri, I hope this will be the boost you need to see you reach your goal!

  9. Count me in but can I do something different. I would like to follow your lead but attempt to be published by a different magazine. I’ve been published in Clubhouse Magazine once on my own and one co-authored article. If that doesn’t count then you can drop me off the list, I’ll still use your info to keep me motivated. Thanks for all you do for our club. I remember you saying in the past that you wanted to target Highlights in the future. I’m also doing research on publishers to start my picture book according to your teleclass on CCSS. I’m looking to query a publisher who accepts first time authors.
    It’s been very interesting researching for a topic. Thanks for that teleclass also.

    • Great to have you hop on board, Marlene! The info for a Highlights submission might be a little different than for a different magazine, but glean what you can to make your own journey successful!!!!!

  10. Thank you for this useful post. You are in my favorites.

    • Joy, you brought a smile to my heart this morning. Thanks for your kind words!


Leave a Reply

Categories

