Posted by: nancyisanders | August 27, 2013

Highlights: Clarify Your Goals

STEP SEVEN
The next step I’m taking on my journey to submit a nonfiction article to Highlights is to clarify my goals and determine which strategies I’m going to use to meet my goals.

Part of this process involves getting to know my target publisher better.

Several authors on the NF listserv mentioned that it can take several years to see your article in print. I’ve also heard they purchase all rights to the manuscripts and that the pay is on the low end. I’m okay with all of that for this journey.

Here’s just a little explanation of where I’m coming from. In my own personal career (and also when I teach writing classes at conferences, etc.) I share that I separate my writing into three different goals: writing for income, writing to get published, and writing for personal fulfillment as a writer. I call this the Triple Crown of Success. (I go into detail about it in my book that will be re-released in September, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. Click here to see its website.)

So I’m already working on a picture book deadline that one publisher has already given me. This is for income.

And I’m already working with a magazine editor on projects that will get me published in the year ahead. This is for the goal of getting published.

This project for Highlights is for my goal of personal fulfillment as a writer.

So I’m not focusing on when it’s published or how much income it might bring in or what rights they purchase. I just want to practice my nonfiction skills and work on doing this as it’s been a dream of mine for many years. And I know other writers have felt this way, too, so I thought I’d share in real time the steps I’m really taking toward this goal. And you know, even if they don’t accept it for publication, I know I’ll be a better writer at the end of the day for embarking on this new phase of my writing journey. That’s the main reason I wanted to invite other writers to join along in the fun as I share on my blog about the steps I’m taking.

With all these things in mind, I recommend that you also choose to work toward the goal of personal fulfillment as a writer on this project. Otherwise, you may give up and not even do this if you were hoping this would get published right away. Or if you were hoping this would earn you a lot of income and make all the hours you’ll need to spend working on this pay you back in cold cash. Choose other projects to work on right now for getting published and earning income.

Just continue through to the end on this project to fulfill your goal of satisfaction and personal growth as a writer. This will help keep you motivated to actually follow through to the finish line and not give up along the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

