Posted by: nancyisanders | September 27, 2013

Highlights: Check-off List Part 3

This next part of the check-off list for the Contributor’s Guidelines for Highlights is a stumbling block for many writers. I know. Because it’s not on my top 10 list of things I want to do as a writer.

But it’s an actual skill I need to learn how to do as a writer, and I’ve learned some tips and techniques over the years as I’ve had to acquire photographs for some of my articles and books.

Here’s the note I wrote myself on this one:

• Color 35mm slides, photos or art-reference materials are helpful and sometimes crucial in evaluating submissions. Digital images should be no less than 300 dpi.
o I’m making a note to spend time researching photographs. My subject has free photos found in the Library of Congress. I also took photographs when I visited the historic sites and museums (I can contact them about obtaining permission to use them). Also, I know places that offer photos of my subject for a small fee.

Whoa! Does this sound like opening a can of worms or what?!

If this leaves you squirming in your writer’s chair, don’t despair. Schedule in some time for yourself in the days ahead to start digging in and looking around for potential photographs that you can recommend with the article you’ll be writing for Highlights.

For some real tips and a chuckle, check out what my writing buddies have to say about this at Writing According to Humphrey and Friends.

And one more note…you might already know this, but I didn’t until recently, so I want to share this with you.

I have a Mac. See if this works for your Windows computer, too.
Put a photograph on your desktop as a jpg file.
Double click on the photo so it opens up as a big picture on your screen.
You’ll see “PREVIEW” across the top.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 2.04.04 PM

In that toolbar, click on “Tools.”
A dropdown menu appears. Click on “Adjust size.”
A window opens.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 2.10.04 PM

In the “Resolution” box type in 300.
Be sure it says next to that “pixels/inch.”
Click “OK” and click save.

That’s one way you can adjust the size of your photo to be 300 dpi as Highlights requires. Eventually, you’ll want to double-check with them or with your other publishers to see if this works.


Responses

  1. Neat trick for your mac! And good info to know about photos and your process, Nancy.

    • Thanks, Tina! Do you know if this works on PCs, too?


Leave a Reply

Categories

