Posted by: nancyisanders | October 28, 2013

Highlights: Bibliography

Now that my nonfiction article is a work-in-progress and is no longer a first draft, I’m spending a portion of time editing it nearly every day. This process usually takes some time…there’s just no way to cut it short. And if you add critique group feedback into the loop, you have to wait until your group meets.

So while I’m digesting and editing and thinking and revising and contemplating various parts of the manuscript, I’m working on other tasks as well.

Of course, I’m saving different versions of my file each time I sit down to revise. One of the versions I saved at this point was a version that has all my footnotes in it. I cited every quote I used in my article, of course. But I also put footnotes is bunches of places to keep track of where I found the different facts I stated. Plus in these footnotes I’ll often write little notes to myself such as “This book and that book stated this date, but the other book stated that date.”

When I felt I was NEARLY finished with my research (you’re never quite TOTALLY finished until the second you send it in) I saved a file that I labeled “Title with Footnotes.” Now I can always find it at a quick glance.

Then I went through and deleted all my research footnotes and personal footnotes and saved this as a new file version. I kept all the footnotes citing each quote in the article. This will now be the version I work on to finalize my article for submission.

Then I finalized my Bibliography. I listed my main references in the bibliography. Since I had the luxury of using several autobiographies (primary sources) I didn’t need a lot of books listed. I printed this out. Once again, it looks like the format I show on my website for my book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

I put my Bibliography in my “Submissions” folder.


Responses

  1. Thanks for all of your help. I am amazed at your stamina and dedication. Can you loan me some?
    Jan

    • This made me think of the question, “How do you eat an elephant?” The answer is one bite at a time. Just break each big task into little bite-sized tasks, Jan, and move forward at a pace that works for you and you’ll accomplish much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

