Posted by: nancyisanders | November 8, 2013

Hippety Hopping Down the Blog Hop Trail!

Here comes Peter Cottontail,
Hopping down the bunny trail…
Hippety Hoppety Easter’s on its way!

Remember singing that fun song when you were a kid?

Well…it’s not Easter quite yet.
And I’m not Peter Cottontail,
but there have been so many blog hops going on these days that I feel like singing that song with my name in it…
So come on…sing along with me!

Here comes [put your name in here] Cottontail,
Hopping down the Blog Hop Trail
Hippety Hoppety Authors come your way!

Seriously, though, if you’re reading my blog
and if you’ve signed up to FOLLOW my blog,
chances are, you’re an author.
You’re a writer.
And you probably like to write at least some of the time for kids.

So, if you’d ever like to be included in a blog hop I get asked to join, where I get linked to from somewhere in cyberspace and then I link to 3 or 4 other writers in cyberspace and we all share with our reading buddies and friends in cyberspace, let me know! I’ll put together an e-mail list and invite you to join in the fun one of the next times I get invited to join a blog hop. You can post a comment here or e-mail me at jeffandnancys@gmail.com and let me know you want me to add your name and e-mail to my blog-hop list.

Matheny 1
Today, I’ve been invited to hop down the blog hop trail by Sally Matheny! Sally is a homeschooling Southern belle with a heart for Jesus and always an encouraging word for others. She writes for children in places like Clubhouse Jr., Appleseeds, and DevoKids.

For the blog hop, here are four questions I bet you’re just dying to know the answer to about me as an author!

1) What’s the last book you just read?
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate. I really enjoyed this MG novel. Call me a softie or call me a farm girl transplanted in the big city who will always have a tender heart for animals, I loved climbing inside the head of the sweet gorilla named Ivan. It was a sad read, but ended happy. I love a happy ending.

2) What are your next plans for your garden?
Fall has officially arrived here in sunny California and I’m buying bright yellow pansies by the 6-pack to decorate my yard with. When the trees are bare and most of the flowers are dead, these bright yellow splashes of sunshine brighten my writer’s soul all winter long.

3) What’s playing in your CD player/ipod?
A Child’s Garden of Verses as sung by two unknown singers…a record from my childhood that I still play over and over again. It inspires me to write and think and see the world with a child’s heart.

4) Any marketing strategies in the horizon?
I’ve just been invited to join a Scavenger hunt! So watch for details. There will be a BIG prize for the winner…they’re talking about an iPad mini!!!!…lots of book prizes along the way…clues to gather and authors’ sites to visit…watch for upcoming details at the end of November so you can join in the fun, fun, fun!!!! Online marketing is one way we writers can get the news about our books out…and it’s also a good excuse for us all to join in another celebration in cyberspace.

Here are some blogs I’ve tagged recently, so if you haven’t yet visited them, stop by and say “hi”!

As a nurse, Terri Forehand has a tender heart for kids, especially ones who are dealing with health issues. Learn about the special book she’s written to help bring hope.

And author Carolyn Huston has written a book for children with autism. Find out more about her journey at her blog.


Responses

  1. I enjoyed learning more about you, Nancy. The Scavenger Hunt sounds intriguing! Can’t wait to hear more.
    I love pansies, too. Be sure to post photos. The fall colors are fading quickly over here in North Carolina.

    • It was a delight to learn more about you, too, Sally! Thanks for inviting me to join the blog hop.


Leave a Reply

Categories

