Posted by: nancyisanders | January 30, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book: Why a Plot Chart?

You may be wondering WHY I recommend filling out a plot chart for your picture book. I mean, this isn’t a novel, right? And it’s not even fiction.

Well, I’ll let you in on a secret.

Ever since I started using this plot chart to spend time thinking about the significant changes and key plot points in my manuscripts, I’ve become a better writer. How do I know? Because I’ve been getting comments. From editors!!!!

I use this plot chart now to plot out my magazine stories, picture books, and chapter books. Both fiction and nonfiction.

Here’s an example of what I’ve been hearing:

We LOVE this story! You really hit it out of the park. 🙂 Great action all the way through.

(If I remember correctly, this is the first time ever this editor didn’t ask me to revamp the structure of my manuscript!)

So if you’ve been hesitating, wondering if you should really take the time to try to plan out the structure of your picture book, I hope this convinces you to give it a try!

Just do as much as you can on this project. Then, for your next manuscript try it again. Then the next. The more you use this, the easier it will become and the stronger your plots will be.

And that’s a true sign of a better writer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

