Posted by: nancyisanders | February 25, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book: The Pace

sundial HPIM3093 - Version 2

As we’ve been working on our nonfiction picture book manuscripts, we’ve now entered the writing stage. I’ve been going at a very slow pace, explaining each step of the process from ordering in our research books to brainstorming working titles to creating plot charts and outlines.

As I’ve mentioned before, three months is a nice time-frame to work on if you want to write a nonfiction picture book that is publishable in today’s market.

However, many times it’s unrealistic to expect to have three months to write a nonfiction picture book. For example, when I signed the contract to write four nonfiction picture books for Children’s Press, I had three months in which to write all four books! And some of the topics were topics I had not ever researched. Basically, I had three weeks to research and write and submit each one.

That was several years ago. Another example just happened this week. I heard from my agent regarding a nonfiction picture book she had submitted to an editor. The editor said she preferred slice of life biographies rather than a biography about a person’s whole life. So now I need to rewrite that book and I’m hoping to do it in one week.

I’m telling you all this because I want to give you a heads up on what’s coming here on my blog.

After we finish going through the process of writing the first draft of our 800-word nonfiction picture book here on my blog, I’ll be stepping up the pace and showing you how to write the first draft of your nonfiction picture book in just three weeks.

And after that, I’ll step up the pace even faster and show you how to write your first draft in just one week.

The key to successfully doing this, however, is to choose your topic and gather your research books FIRST before we start either of those upcoming projects. That’s one reason why I like to purchase my key research books on different topics that I write about. It allows me the luxury of quickening the pace because I already own all the books I need to research my topic.

So if you want to follow along and write a second nonfiction picture book in 3 weeks here with me on my blog and then a third nonfiction picture book in just one week, go ahead and start brainstorming ideas for your next two topics and gather in the research books you’ll plan to use.

And get ready for some fun!


Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Why I Write Picture Books? (#YIWritePB) and commented:
    Sharing valuable information


Leave a Reply

Categories

