Posted by: nancyisanders | March 5, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book: Word Count

As I’m meeting with my friends at the writers mini-retreats we’re having at my house, the topic of word count keeps coming up.

I’m also hearing from some of you about the word count.

So here are some thoughts about word count.

When I attended ABA last time, one editor told me she still likes to receive submissions of long nonfiction picture books of 3000 words or more.

Some current nonfiction picture books are around 1500 words in length.

My agent prefers me to turn in 800 words or less in a nonfiction picture book.

So the best thing for you to do is choose a particular publisher and look at their new nonfiction picture books being released and see what word count they’re putting out right now. CLICK HERE to learn one quick way to do this.

For now, if the word count is stressing you out, don’t worry about it. Just get the story out of you that you need to tell. You can fix the word count later. If you eventually decide to chop and cut, you can save those portions of text to put in the back of the picture book in the Author’s Note or on a website you’re building for your book.

Responses

  1. I like that comment–“Just get the story out of you…”


Leave a Reply

Categories

