Posted by: nancyisanders | March 7, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book: Writer’s Mini-Retreat Week 3

HPIM8080

My three writer friends and I met again today for another fun time together of writing. Wow…I’ve never actually done this before where we meet regularly to spend time actually writing. Always before, my writing groups have been times of either critiquing or of instruction and learning.

It’s just so great to get together and WRITE. It has motivated me so much.

Today we just gathered around the table (doesn’t it look like we’re working hard?) and got to work. Each of us is in a different stage now of the writing process, so I’ll share where I’m at.

Today I worked on the middle scene. The exact midpoint of the whole book. On my plot chart it’s the second change, the change the separates the first half of the middle from the second half.

Once again, I followed my writing rhythm. First I wrote down my goal for the day: Write the middle scene.

Then I picked up my sample book I’m targeting: Those Rebels, John and Tom. I read the turning point in that book so I’d get the “voice” and word count back in my head.

Then I spent about half an hour researching that scene. I took notes and had to update my bibliography to include a new book I hadn’t used before.

And then I wrote that scene.

It’s too wordy. It doesn’t flow right. But that’s okay. It’s a first draft! At least I got it down on paper. I can work to fix it later.

Then, before my friends left, we all shared aloud what we had worked on that day. It was fun to hear everyone’s progress! Each step we take is a step in the right direction.

And then after they left, I was so motivated to keep on writing that I researched and wrote part of the next section. Wahoo! That’s one of the benefits of a group like this…it motivates us to keep on keeping on.

Responses

  1. How wonderful to see some familiar faces 🙂 Happy writing!

    • Oh yes, we miss you in our groups!!!! Hugs to you, Tina!

  2. How wonderful to see your writing group! You all look hard at work. I’ve really enjoyed all the nonfiction picture book posts. I like the way you are breaking it down for us, step by step. Thank you!

    • Thanks, Rebecca! We took a couple of photos and we laughingly thought this made us all look like we were really busy working hard, ha ha!!!! Glad you are enjoying these posts, although you’re quite a pro at this already!!!!

      • Thanks for the kind words, yet I always feel I learn so much from you. Good luck to you and your group with your projects!


Leave a Reply

Categories

