Posted by: nancyisanders | March 31, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book in 3 Weeks: Prep

HPIM7542 - Version 4

Yes, it is perfectly possible to write the first draft of a nonfiction picture book in three weeks. You can do it!

But ONLY if you already have the research books you need right there in your research center.

For example, the book I will be working on is a biography of a person I already own all the books there are that are written about him or written by him. So I can easily get started when next Monday rolls around.

But if you don’t yet have the books you need to use to research and write your nonfiction picture book, it can take awhile to order them in from the library and you’ll waste precious time if you’re hoping to follow along.

But first you have to choose a broad topic to write about so you know what books to look for. Many of you have awesome ideas already in your mind (I know because you’ve been e-mailing me about them!) but if you haven’t yet picked a topic, CLICK HERE to help you make your choice.

So go ahead and gather the books you’ll need for your research. Order them in from your library or find used books on your topic at Amazon.

And if you want to join me after that in the journey to write the first draft of a picture book in just ONE week, go ahead and order in those research books now, too.


Responses

  1. Often pinpointing the right approach with a particular topic is the hardest decsion, (for me) to make, then after weeks of work I discover, it’s been done that way before.

    • Maria, I hope this helps you focus and get the task done!

  2. Count me in! I’m ready to go!

    • Yay, Cecilia! I’m excited you’re joining in on the fun.

  3. I’m ready to try, Nancy! I finished one this month thanks to Susanna Leonard Hill’s MAKING PICTURE BOOK MAGIC class. I’ve ordered materials for a new one and am ready to try for three weeks. This feels like an Olympic sport.

    • Hip hip hooray for you, Kirsten. And maybe we should call this the “3-Week Olympics!”


Leave a Reply

Categories

