Posted by: nancyisanders | May 13, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book in One Week: Tuesday

Day 2 plotting mentor text HPIM8201

Welcome back to the second day of writing a nonfiction picture book in one week. You can see me working at my research center that’s set up right next to a sewing project I’m working on.

Here’s the schedule I followed (using my calendar as a guide) to plug in three solid writing sessions throughout my day.

8:15 I typed up my bibliography, grabbing the stack of books I ordered in from the library on my topics, and typing in the info for each one. I listed the adult resources in my main bibliography and the children’s books in a separate group under “Student Resources.” Below both of these is a growing list of Internet resources I’m using.

8:30 I spent an hour researching. I didn’t need to type out my mentor text as it was a picture book I had already typed out word for word. As you research, keep reminding yourself that this is just a picture book, not a 10,000 word chapter book. This helps me not start to drown in research.

9:45: Breakfast break.

11:00 I plotted the chart of my mentor text and spent time editing my manuscript so far. Plus I did more research and plugged in the footnotes.

12:50 Break for lunch.

1:45 I wrote the first draft of my first half of the middle. Emphasis on FIRST DRAFT. Less than 200 words. Kind of scanty, but at least it’s down on paper so I have something to work with.

2:15 Research, research, research. Plus copying and pasting from my bibliography to plug in footnotes when I type these in.

3:15 Title tryouts to help me choose a working title I want to use.
3:20 I worked on my plot chart and the outline of my book to tweak it in spots where my research demanded it.
5:00 Time for dinner. Whew. Another full day under my belt.

And once again, my trusty writing buddies joined me for another day of hard work, as you can see in this photo below, lol. Hope your second day of writing is going well!

Day 2 writing buddies HPIM8195


Responses

  1. I am keeping up. This is great. Thanks. πŸ˜€

    • Yay for you!

      • :D. Time for day three. Making a lot of progress. I have three beginning for three picture books. 2 biographies and one concept book. Looking forward to Wednesday’s post.

      • Wow, Jackie, you know how to multi-task. You go girl!!!!!

      • I am learning. πŸ˜€ Thanks for the step-by-step procedures on how to accomplish this task. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

