Posted by: nancyisanders | May 19, 2014

Nonfiction Picture Book in One Week: Hip Hip Hooray!

Wow…what a journey this has been…it’s hard to believe we started out last November in 2013 to learn how to write the first draft of a nonfiction picture book. First we went through the step-by-step process over about three months (if you subtract time off for the holidays). Then we upped our pace and tried it in three weeks. And most recently, we really sped up the process and I showed you how to write the first draft of a nonfiction picture book in just one week.

Hip hip hooray for each and every one of you who actually wrote a nonfiction picture book during all this time. And some of you have been working on more than one, ’cause you’ve been writing to tell me so. Good for you!

So, once again, I wanted to offer you a fun little picture you can post on your website or blog, or just print out and hang if your office if you want! Just as a way to validate all the hard work (and hopefully fun!) you’ve been having in our journey together.

Here it is, nice and big if you want to save it and print it out:

Nonfiction Picture Book logo

And here it is as a cute little thumbnail if you want to save it and put it on your website or blog:

Nonfiction Picture Book logo

So…what’s next?

 

I’m going to walk you through the editing process I take to polish my nonfiction picture book manuscript until it’s the best I know how to make it at this point in my career.

Many times, people ask me for writing tips and strategies on specific SKILLS of writing for children.

So now’s the time. So roll up your sleeves and get out your editor’s hat. Bring along the manuscript you just wrote or grab another nonfiction picture book manuscript that you’ve been working on. Because we’re going to have some fun learning great skills we can use to improve our writing craft. Right here. On my blog.

See you in the next post!


Responses

  1. Nancy, I woke up and immediately came to this blog. I had to see what you were up to today. Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€

    • You’re welcome!!! The upcoming posts will be spread out a little bit as I’m preparing solid materials to share on the editing process. So stay tuned!!!!

      • You can believe I will be following your blog closely πŸ˜‰

  2. When we started the journey of writing picture books in a week, you stated that you learned of a publisher who planned to publish 1000 picture books in a year. Do you mind telling me which publisher it was that planned on publishing these books so I may research them. Thanks.

    • I’m happy to share, Jackie! Thanks for asking. This particular publisher is Rosen Publishing and you can go to their website at this link: http://www.rosenpublishing.com. They are a work-for-hire publisher and have several imprints so have fun exploring their site! Another publisher I learned is interested in more nonfiction picture books is Viking Books (at Penguin) but double check to see if they require agent-only submissions. One of the easiest ways to compile a list of nonfiction picture book publishers is either to search on Amazon or go to your local bookstore/library and see current books by different publishers and then search for their submissions guidelines. Have fun!

  3. Thanks Nancy πŸ˜€ I will explore these options. I appreciate the continued feedback. πŸ˜€

  4. Nancy, the scripture says, “Give and it shall be given to you.” You surely have LOTS coming your way because you are such a giving person. Thanks for helping all of us!

    • Gloria, your kind words surely brought a smile to my face!!!! Hugs to you sweet friend.

  5. You are amazing…working on my Blogger post, as we speak!
    Thanks for sharing and answering Jackie’s question.

    • You’re welcome, Mona! Hope this helps you along your writing journey.


Leave a Reply

Categories

