Posted by: nancyisanders | June 6, 2014

The Writing Desk of Pat Miller

Pat Millers Desk

Here is my desk. I am in mid-project, working on a nonfiction book about Stephen F. Austin and his cousin. The state of my desk, messy but loosely organized, reflects the state of my research at this point. Before I start writing the draft, I will clean off my desk. That’s in keeping with my mental state when I switch from harvesting facts to producing what I hope will be engaging nonfiction.

4972448
Connect with children’s writer Pat Miller!
Learn more about her books and her life as a children’s writer at these sites:

Website: Pat Miller: Reading…Writing…Fun!
Nonfiction Writer’s Conference: NF 4 NF: Children’s Writer’s Conference: Nonfiction for New Folks

_____________________________________________________________________

CLICK HERE if you’re a children’s writer and would like to see your writing desk featured here on my blog!

Responses

  1. My eye was drawn to the orchid.
    Double screening is pretty impressive Pat!

    • Thanks, Cathy! Now that I’m used to the double-screen, I’d have trouble doing without. I can have research on one screen, draft on the other. Or e-mail on one and work on the other. Orchid was a Mother’s Day present from Son 2. It’s like a work of art, right?

  2. Pat, I just love seeing where your dedication and creativity take place. Thanks so much for sharing with us a peek into your corner of the world!

    • Thanks for the opportunity. I, too, enjoy seeing where others work their magic. My critique group is scattered across the country, and one way we got to know each other was to post pictures of our desks!

  3. Thank you, Pat! I love that you clear the decks…and the research mess… when you are ready to begin the actual writing of your non-fiction books…great advice that I will try to put into action as I take Kristen’s Non-Fiction Archaeology class this month. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve heard great things about Kristen’s class. I’ll be speaking at her conference in July, and she will be speaking at mine, Nonfiction for New Folks (NF 4 NF) in October. Check us out at http://www.patmillerbooks.com/conference.html. πŸ™‚

      • I know, Pat! Both conferences are ones I would love to attend…I love the sound of NF 4 NF…but don’t know if I can swing it. πŸ™‚ Best of luck in your presentation…I know you will ‘WOW’ them in GA.


Leave a Reply

Categories

