Posted by: nancyisanders | August 22, 2014

Welcome to My World!

Crunch. Crunch. Crunch.

What’s that sound? It is a mouse nibbling on cheese? Is it a monster eating a cookie? No, it’s me (and maybe you) in a time crunch trying to work as fast as I can to meet editorial deadlines on various writing projects.

This past summer I had some great and fabulous vacations. (I hope you did too!) On one vacation, my husband and I got together with my 5 other sisters and 1 brother and their spouses for a family reunion. (I’m the youngest of 7.)

Here we are, all in order from youngest to oldest, left to right:

dscn1165-version-2

(To see more of my fun family reunion photos, CLICK HERE.)

But suddenly it seems, all the editors in the entire world of publishing got back from THEIR vacations and decided to contact me! I’ve got a lo-o-o-ong TO-DO list of TOP PRIORITIES from everyone PLUS an exciting brand-new new unexpected deadline that’s also on a whirlwind time crunch.

So why am I telling you all this?

Because I’ve been mostly silent here on my blog the past month or so as I’ve been rearranging my schedule nearly every day to try to crunch out another editorial deadline (or two or three or four) that arrived in my e-mail inbox that morning.

But I’ve made a decision.

Instead of disappearing for the next two months while I keep crunching out these urgent commitments, I thought I’d invite you to follow along and take an inside peek at what goes on day-by-day…really goes on…as a writer juggles a bunch of different hats to wear.

It’s exciting! It’s scary! And it’s so much fun I thought I’d invite you along.

And if you want to share some of the fun stuff you’re doing in your corner of the writing world, let us know so we can cheer you on!


Responses

  1. Wow, you are certainly busy, Nancy! I look forward to hearing what kinds of things you are doing during ‘crunch time’, thanks so much for sharing that with us! You’re a wonderful teacher too, did you know that?

    • Thanks, Val, and you’re super busy right now, too! And a happy birthday to Ray!!!! We’ll have to get together to celebrate the two of you.

  2. Thanks for inviting us along. Can’t wait.

    • Glad you’re coming along on the journey, Chris!

  3. Ditto–back from vacation to a pile of deadlines. I’m interested in learning from how you manage yours. Great idea!

  4. I’m right there with you, Nancy. My kids are back in school, and I have four tight deadlines in the next week. Thanks goodness I got one book out the door today. I’m excited to see how a real pro handles everything!

    • Oh congratulations to you for getting your book out today! And four deadlines to go. Thanks for sharing!!!!

  5. Hi Nancy!

    I’m glad you had a chance to relax so you can hit the ground running to meet all those deadlines.

    I have 4 1/2 months before the release of my debut picture book, THE STORY CATCHER, so I’m working on promotion and marketing while starting to sub my first creative nonfiction chapter book and finishing up the initial research of my second nonfiction chapter book. All that while running my martial arts school and maintaining my blog. No rest for the writerly, right? ;~)

    Nice post!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com

    • Okay, that’s so fun to hear about all you’re doing and a martial arts, too! I’m impressed!!!!!

  6. Wow, Nancy! A lot of exciting things for you to do. I’ll be following along, and I hope your journey will help me too. 🙂 Great family pic too!

    • Thanks, Tracy!!! And best wishes with all you’re doing, too.

  7. Can’t wait to hear all the details, Nancy! I don’t have any book deadlines, only very tight 2-3 day turn-around deadlines for qBS Learning.

    • Mine aren’t all book deadlines, either, Tina. Mostly various stages of various projects. And good for you to have your deadlines, too! I’m always so excited to hear what you’re working on!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

