Posted by: nancyisanders | September 25, 2014

New Writing Adventure Right Here on My Blog

3 swallowtails at fence HPIM8412 - Version 2

Oh, what an adventure I had the other day! I had taken a break from my frantic deadline to give my eyes, wrists, and brain a rest so of course, the first place I go is outside in my garden. There, to my surprise were three of the most beautiful and biggest butterflies ever! I looked them up and discovered they are giant swallowtails, the largest butterfly in North America. I had seen one here and there the last two years, but these ones danced and flitted and floated around our garden like it was their home. (I hope it is!!!!) So of course I snapped a photo…aren’t they gorgeous?

Writing has a lot of unexpected adventures like that. And right now, today, in my little corner of the writing world I’m starting out on another adventure, so I thought I’d invite you along.

For starters, recently here on my blog I’ve been sharing what’s been going on as I’ve been working on a super duper crazy deadline.

Guess what? Yesterday I finished writing that deadline. Wahoo! And about 2 hours after I finished typing the last page, an editor from a different publisher called me on the phone and we discussed the next part of the manuscript I needed to write to send her way for one of my books that is under contract. Talk about perfect timing!

Well, as I mentioned in a previous post, with that big deadline I’ve been crunching on nearing its end (I did one final edit on those 28 pages and submitted it this morning), I’ve been working on my TRIPLE CROWN OF SUCCESS.

As many of you know if you’ve read my how-to-book for writers YES! YOU CAN LEARN HOW TO WRITE CHILDREN’S BOOKS, GET THEM PUBLISHED, AND BUILD A SUCCESSFUL WRITING CAREER, this means I’m always working on 3 manuscripts at a time:

1 for the goal of getting published
1 for the goal of earning income
1 for the goal of personal fulfillment

So here’s where I’m at on this:
Sunday my husband and I were asked to write a really great and fun new project for our church. Bingo. There’s my new project for the goal of “personal fulfillment.”

Last week I got an idea to contact a monthly magazine/newsletter and offer to write them a column for whatever they might pay (I think it will either be no-pay or perhaps a year’s free subscription). Bingo. There’s my hopeful new project for the goal of “getting published.” If that doesn’t work out I’ll try a different publisher.

And today, yes TODAY!!!! I read in an e-mail post from the enews from the Institute of Children’s Literature (ICL) about Kaeden Books, an educational publisher who is LOOKING FOR WRITERS!!!!!!

So guess what? I’m going to pursue this new exciting lead for my goal of hopefully earning income.

So guess what again? Since Jan Fields was so generous and sent this shout out to everyone, I thought I’d send a shout out to everyone here on my blog to invite you to join me in this brand new adventure!

So here on my blog for however longs it takes, I’ll share with you the steps I’m taking to prepare stuff to submit to Kaeden Books to respond to their call out with their PARTICULAR need for children’s writers. We’re talking picture books. We’re talking nonfiction OR fiction. We’re talking early chapter books. We’re talking beginning readers. Does it get any sweeter than that?

So here’s what I did first thing. I clicked on the link to Kaeden Books to see exactly what they were looking for.

Then I printed out this information and put it in a file folder and started a pocket folder for this new adventure. I encourage you to do the same!

And now, I’m just spending time browsing through all the links and looking at the types of books they do. I encourage you to do the same!

So check back in here for my next post. I’ll let you know what the next steps I take on this new adventure to prepare a submission for them.

And if you want to join in the adventure, too, let us know so we can cheer each other on!!!!!


Responses

  1. What a wonderful opportunity. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

    • You’re welcome. Glad you’re joining in, Sydney!

  2. I would love to join you on this journey, Nancy!

  3. I’m in, dear Nancy!

  4. Here’s my ticket, Nancy…I’m hopping on board this exciting adventure with you. 😉 It will be so educational to learn (and do – hands on is the best way to learn, if you ask me) the steps one should follow before, during and after submitting your work.
    By the way…I love your 3-pronged approach to writing!

    • Oh it’s so great to have you on board, Vivian!!! And thanks for your encouragement. I’m really excited about this!

  5. Hiya Nancy, I’m in too and appreciate the heads up. It’s very generous of you to offer an approach on working with them. Congrats on your recent successes and achievements! Going to check out Kaeden Books now! :0)

    • Thanks, Donna, and have fun looking at their site. Be sure to jot down any ideas, even the smallest, that come to mind!

  6. I did see the email from ICL this morning, and skipped over the Kaeden offer, thinking I didn’t know enough to do it. So your post is like a genie from a lamp, granting my wish. This is very generous of you. Thanks, Nancy!

    • OH what a fun, fun analogy, Pat! A genie granting your wish. I hope you get THREE wishes to come true!!! Smile.

  7. Hi Nancy,
    Thank you for sharing this opportunity. I hope to buy your book Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. I checked out the Kaeden Books website and I have a question for you. Do you have to be a teacher in order to write for an educational publisher such as Kaeden Books?

    • Hi Carole, Thanks for your great question. Hopefully this will be a place we can all ask questions and find answers, too! For many educational publishers, no, you do NOT have to be a teacher to write for them. There are some that this is a requirement, however. Since I’m new to Kaeden Books, I’ll be looking into that, too. So I’ll let you know as soon as I discover that answer. Here’s the key, though. For publishers that require you to be a teacher, see if you can team up with a teacher who you know and co-author the book together. I’m not a teacher but when I want to write for a publisher like that, I team up with my hubby who is a fourth grade teacher. Kind of handy, I might add!

  8. Hi Nancy, I’m going to take your ride. Thank you so much for doing this. This is priceless for a newbie children’s writer.

    • Glad you’re going to join in this Ping. This will be a great exercise for you to try!

  9. Nancy, I’m not joining your adventure (it’s not the right one for me at the moment), but I think you’re wonderful to be offering this experience for other writers. Wishing all of you the best on it.

    • Thanks for your well-wishes, Ev!

  10. I will be joining, perfect timing for me as I have been downsized at my nursing job and my husband says “well you are always saying you need more time to write”,,, so have been working on getting back into my writing. God has always provided when one door closes, and that’s not a promise that I will get published but that I will have some time to see what I can do for Him. Thanks for sharing.

    • I’m so glad you’re going to be joining in. And God is so perfect in his timing!!!!!

  11. Beautiful photo, Nancy. I wish I could see your butterfly garden! I’ll try to do this, too.

    • Thanks, Tina. Glad you’re gonna give this a try, too. :o)

  12. Ms. Sanders,

    I too am joining you on this journey. I’ve already completed one creative nonfiction manuscript which seems to possibly fit their needs so I will prepare my submission and send it on it’s way with a hope and a prayer…

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com

    • Good for you, Donna!!!! Praying God will open doors.

  13. Thanks for this, Nancy!!

    • You’re welcome! It should be lots of fun.

  14. I’m in, Nancy! One of my goals this year is to get paid for my writing! 🙂

    • Yay! I hope this will help one of your goals come true!!!!

  15. Hi Nancy, I won’t be participating, but I will be praying for all of you. I will be reading the posts to see how you go through the process, and will be cheering all of you on.
    Patricia Miller (not the one above… there are at least three Patricia Miller’s who write for kids!)

    • Thanks for your prayers, Patricia! And good thing your photo appears along with your comment so we can tell the three of you apart. Maybe one day you’ll use this info to submit something on your own.

  16. Hi Nancy, you are amazing. The Derek Jeter of writing. I’m on this ride. Looking forward to it! Congratulations on all the good news! My girlfriend, I and 7 16 years old are away and return on Sunday! Looking forward to it all 🙂

    • Yay! So glad you’re joining in, Donna. Have fun with all those sweet 16s!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories