Posted by: nancyisanders | October 9, 2014

Book Review: A Star for Jesus

A Star for Jesus

A Star for Jesus
By Crystal Bowman
Illustrated by Claudine Gevry

What a delightful and precious children’s book for little hands to hold and read! Written in rhyme, this is a fresh retelling of the Christmas story when the star brought the wise men to worship the newborn King, Jesus. It is the perfect introduction to young ears who are hearing the account for the very first time and the perfect way for you to engage young hearts with the mystery and majesty surrounding the birth of the Son of God.

One of the first things that appealed to me about A Star for Jesus is the format. It’s an oversized board book for babies and toddlers that is cut in a unique shape following one of the edges of the star on the cover.

I love Crystal Bowman’s children’s books to begin with, so this new book of hers caught my eye. The soft and beautiful illustrations are the perfect compliment that help brings the text to life. I especially love how the book ends with a gentle reminder to little ones to remember the Christmas star and how God sent His Son to earth each time they see the stars twinkling in the night sky. This will make a wonderful Christmas gift to give this Christmas as well as add to our own collection of Christmas books. Sure to become a favorite with every family!

-Note: I joined BookLook Bloggers, a wonderful resource where you get free Christian books in exchange for an honest review. To read more about this book, click here. To read my disclaimer, more of my reviews, and also learn how you can join and enjoy the benefits of this great program, click on the following:

Disclaimer

Responses

  1. Hi, Nancy,
    Is this book good for a three-year-old child? I’m thinking of giving it to a friend’s grandson. The cover looks gorgeous!

    • Yes! I was going to say it’s good for birth through 3 years, but I think kids will love it up into kindergarten, too. It’s such a beautiful book and I think kids will especially love holding it themselves while they listen to the delightful rhyme.

      • I’ll definitely give that book as a Christmas gift. Thank you for your informative blog and for sharing the beautiful pictures. You’re an accomplished nature photog too!

      • Thanks so much, Anne. Glad this gave you a gift idea for Christmas! And I had to smile when I read your comment…I just came back inside from photographing a monarch that just emerged from its pupa where it was hanging in our Japanese Maple. I sat near it and ate my lunch (with my camera at the ready) and watched as its wings unfurled and it rested from its new birth as a butterfly.

  2. You are so blessed, Nancy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

