Posted by: nancyisanders | October 15, 2014

Writing Opportunity: Unique Nonfiction

This morning I did some detective work.

Now that we’re going to take a look at the unique nonfiction Kaeden Books is looking for right now in their submissions guidelines, I went to their website and clicked on some links.

I clicked on their link of nonfiction titles.

Then I clicked to view the page in sortable lists.

Then I clicked at the top to sort this list by grade level.

I printed out this list and put it in a file folder labeled NONFICTION TITLES.

Next I clicked on their list of nonfiction collections.

Then I clicked to view this page in sortable lists.

Then I clicked at the top to sort this list by grade level.

Then I printed out this list and put it in my file folder of NONFICTION TITLES.

Then I started clicking on GOOGLE PREVIEW of some of the books.

And I made a discovery.

The books in their list of COLLECTIONS are published by different publishers. The collections Kaeden sells are titles that are carefully selected from other publishers that are all at the same reading level.

So what does this mean?

This means that we want to FOCUS our attention on the Kaeden’s list of nonfiction titles and try to submit a title that fits in their product line.

We can use the list of their collections to help us brainstorm ideas for new titles.

One more bit of detective work to do today is to download Kaeden’s catalog. Click on the link to download the pdf file. Then spend time exploring their current catalog.

Have fun!

Responses

  1. This has been an interesting series of posts. My problem is I can’t seem to find any of their books in my libraries. It would be nice to be able to read some of the books, but maybe a trip to the book store is in the offing. Thanks for posting this series.

    • Glad you’re following along, Rosi! And you probably won’t find any of their books in your bookstore, either. Educational publishers typically only sell books to teachers. (Perhaps you could ask at your local teacher’s bookstore if they carry any of their books.) But be sure to click on lots of books that they have listed and read their “google preview.” This will really help give you a good feel for their style. Then go ahead and purchase one or two as I mentioned I did in a previous post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

