Posted by: nancyisanders | November 7, 2014

Writing Opportunity: Photographs

As I was doing a lot of research for my nonfiction manuscript that I’m working on to submit to Kaeden Books, I started to see various photographs that I could potentially recommend for Kaeden to use in my manuscript as well.

That reminded me that I need to work on potential photographs.

I’m assuming that Kaeden Books might not have a huge budget for photographs. Most publishers are tight on this these days in this economy.

So I plan to recommend photographs they can use for each page of my book.

That led me to a question:

What kind of photographs does Kaeden use in their books?

I started digging around for an answer by looking first at my mentor text, THE BIRD FEEDER.

Hop on over and take a look at the Google Preview. Look closely at the art.

Notice something?

It’s the same empty bird feeder in every photograph.
The birds and the squirrel have been photoshopped on!
If you look at the copyright page, it says that this was done by Signature Design.

So let’s check out a different book of theirs, APPLES.

Take a look at the Google Preview. These photographs look different in each one.
If you look at the copyright page, it shows the photo credits for each different page.

Go ahead and explore various of their nonfiction books like this, including your mentor text, to see how the photographs were acquired.

For my particular manuscript, I have given the art some thought. I think my story will work well with photographs that are the same on every page but have a different item photoshopped in. OR, there are actually photographs in the public domain at the Library of Congress that could be used.

What art design would work in your manuscript, do you think?

Give this some careful thought.

Why?

For several reasons:
1) I think it might be nice to recommend a potential art concept for your book in your cover letter. Normally you wouldn’t do this for a fiction picture book manuscript, but I think it could help give you an edge over other submissions if you recommend this for yours.

2) Since I’m going to publish this book even if Kaeden rejects it, I can either use free photographs I find or use an art program such as Inkscape to make my own images without too much time.

3) If I find free images or make my own, then I can use these on a website I build when my book is published or for creating marketing items such as bookmarks and student worksheets that will help market my book.

I’ll talk more in an upcoming post about art options you can acquire for free, especially if you decided to self-publish this manuscript.

Responses

  1. Great detective work here in noticing the same photos and photoshopped items! Good things to think about! Thanks.

    • Glad you liked this, Tina!!! I’m really jazzed about the idea that if Kaeden doesn’t publish it, I can publish it myself and post it for sale on Teachers Pay Teachers. The first year on that site was for free. Then when we earned enough income to pay for the yearly membership, I paid for that. Now we get to keep a bigger cut on what we sell. We don’t have much up there so we don’t sell a lot yet but we get a little bit of earning every pay period! I’m eager to add new products.

      • I often buy from TpT! I wanted to have a store, too, but I can’t make fancy worksheets like the others can. 😦

      • Tina, it would be awesome if you opened a store! You can open one for free. They keep a bigger percentage, but that will help get your feet wet and get your name out there. And instead of thinking about items you can’t create, think of ones you can! For example, I create a lot of my things on there in a Word document, then save it as a pdf file, and it’s ready to upload! You can make bookmarks, student worksheets, and read-aloud plays like this. Plus you can make these little nonfiction readers like this that we’re doing right now on my blog. All it takes is a Word document! You can see how I made my read-aloud play for Frederick Douglass.

      • Thanks for the pep talk, Nancy! “Think about the items I CAN create.” 🙂

  2. I’m always amazed at the information you’ve been able to figure out/dig up/learn! Thanks for sharing all that you do!!

    • You’re welcome, Mary! I’m so glad you’re finding this helpful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

