Posted by: nancyisanders | November 25, 2014

Writing Opportunity: Self-Publishing a Nonfiction Story

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 7.00.56 AM

I’m very excited to share that I decided to go ahead and self-publish my nonfiction story that I’ve been working on! That’s because it will take me a few more posts to explain the submission process I go through with my other manuscript that I plan to submit to Kaeden Books right now. But this story was already ready to go.

I wanted to share it with you so you can see the final product and try doing this yourself! The title is PETS OF THE PRESIDENT. You can click on the link to where it’s posted in my store at Teachers Pay Teachers.

It took me quite a bit of time to look up and find royalty free images at the Library of Congress that I could use in my story. Plus I had to plug in my footnotes for my research on my own version of the manuscript so I could keep this for future reference. That took me quite a while, too. (But it’s great practice on such a short manuscript for you to see what the research process is like if you want to write nonfiction for kids.)

Then I wrote some discussion questions and activities for the teacher to use that support the Common Core State Standards.

And finally, I walked through the submission process to get this up and running on Teachers Pay Teachers. I had to make a cover, write a blurb for selling it to teachers, and upload it onto their site.

But now it’s finished and available to purchase.

And if you have any questions about all this, just let me know! After Thanksgiving, I’ll start sharing how to wrap up your nonfiction story and submit it to Kaeden Books. And then after that, we’ll walk through the process of writing and submitting an early chapter book to them!

Responses

  1. You’re so generous with your knowledge, Nancy! I’d love to receive the PDF. My email is raineinspain(AT)yahoo(DOT)co(DOT) uk
    Many thanks!

    • I’ll send you the file right away, Rebecca and Donna!

  2. Hi Ms. Sanders!

    ABSOLUTELY I would like a copy of your nonfiction book! Thank you for sharing this with your readers and thanks for all you do for the writing community!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin

  3. Wow, I would love to have a copy for reference. That is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Nancy, thanks so much for your offer to share a copy for reference, this is invaluable. I’m learning so much from this series of blog posts. Thank you for doing them.

  5. Would enjoy seeing this!

  6. Yes! Please send me a copy, Nancy. Thanks so much for sharing all of this.

  7. Nancy, what a fun topic!!! Children will be fascinated with it! I would love to receive a copy of the pdf too. You are definitely a generous sharer, thank you so much for making it available to us.

  8. So would I!!! Priceless information! Thank you.

  9. I’m working my way through your blogposts on this topic, and am constantly amazed at your generosity. You could not have made this any easier unless you actually wrote the book under my byline! Thanks so much, Nancy. I’d really appreciate seeing your file. gpatmiller at gmail dot com.

  10. Yes, I would like a copy. Thank you!

  11. What a learning tool this would be! Would love a copy as well. So generous of you. thanks so much.

  12. Hi Nancy.
    I would like a copy of the file too please. My email is Carole_Jenks11@yahoo.com.
    Thank you!

  13. Wow, Nancy, it looks like a book kids will really enjoy! Who doesn’t love pets? I have been following your joinery and got stuck around the specific vocal point for my nf book. I did buy your Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers & Chapter Books. Your process on the blog was so detailed and easy to follow! Making it my 2015 goal to finish the one I started. Like Pat Miller, I am so grateful for all you generously give to us writers. Yes, I’d love a copy! Thank you for sharing your journey! infowoman at sbcglobal dot net. Happy Thanksgiving to YOU and your family.

  14. Oh my gosh, Nancy, I’d love to see this! Putting all of the pieces together is so intimidating to me. This would be such a great resource. I’m hoping you get my email address through the contact box below the comment box?

  15. Thank you Nancy for sharing this resource. I have no idea what a manuscript like this would look like so I am very happy to have yours as a reference. Can’t wait to read the book – what a great topic! lctribble at gmail dot com.

  16. Wow…such potential for my NF PiBoIdMo ideas! I am real interested in this Nancy…thanks for your generous offer. Damon Dean sevenacresky@windstream.net

  17. Hi Nancy!

    Wow! Congratulations!

    Yes, I would love to receive your PDF file. I will review your book too on Amazon as gratitude for your special gift.

    Please send me a PDF to sunnyiroth@gmail.com.

    Thanks so much! You are so inspiring as usual!
    Irene Roth
    http://irenesroth@wordpress.com.

  18. I’m very grateful too, Nancy! Thanks in advance for sending your book to: dlsadd@gmail.com. Have a very Happy Thanksgiving! :0)

  19. Hi Nancy!
    You are so awesome for sharing. I would love to be able to get a “behind the scenes look” at the process. Nonfiction still intimidates me beyond comprehension. Please send your PDF file to me, verbatimak@aol.com
    Many thanks, and congratulations!

    Louise Willis

  20. Hi Nancy,
    How kind of you to share your learning with us! I would love a copy of the file. Thank you so much!
    Shena

  21. Hi Nancy,

    You are admired. Thank you so much for the many inspirational posts with numerous tips that you share from your heart. I would like to request your exclusive PDF file that you so generously offer.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. I am grateful to learn and grow on the journey of becoming a published author.

    Hugs. ~Suzy Leopold sleopold@gmail.com

  22. Me, me, me! I want one. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much, Nancy, for offering to share this with us. BTW, I’m working on some products so I can open a store, too. It’s a long process getting it altogether and cutesy. This pet book looks great with those photos!

    • Oh yay, Tina! I’m so glad you’re getting a store ready to go. I can’t wait to see your cute stuff, too! I’d like to improve on that end myself.

  23. I am interested in writing nonfiction and your offer is outstanding. Thank you for your generosity, Nancy. I would appreciate a copy of your PDF file.
    Charlotte Dixon

  24. Oh yes- Please and Thank You! I could learn so much from your file and you will surely show me better ways of following the process. Thank you so much for your generous offer Nancy!

    cathy54321 (at) Hotmail (dot) com

  25. Have I died and gone to Heaven, and are you the head angel? Would love a copy.

    • Oh Sherri, you made me laugh out loud!!!!! It’s on its way.

  26. Hi Nancy, I’d love a copy. You are always so generous!!! Thank you.

  27. Received my PDF-Thank you, Nancy!

  28. I’m a new and aspiring author soaking up every bit of information I can! I’d love to have access to your wisdom and experience πŸ™‚ THANK YOU and Happy Thanksgiving.

  29. Hi Nancy,
    I’d love to receive your “top secret” PDF. And I just purchased your story. Did you need a copy of the receipt? And I can’t wait to read it. I also ordered your Scribes Devotional for Writers through Amazon. They said it should arrive in January. It will be a great way to start of the new year.

    • Wow, Tracy! Thanks so much!!!! I’ll send your pdf file right away. And may your writing journey be filled with God’s blessings in the new year.

  30. My pleasure, Nancy. I received the PDF – thank you!
    And thank you for the blessing sentiment. Much appreciated. πŸ™‚

  31. Dear Nancy,
    I would like to receive a copy of your file on Pets of the Presidents. What a neat idea for a children’s book.
    Virginia Loewen

  32. I have also used TpT and struggled with the graphics issue. Would love to see what you’ve done. Thanks!

    • Hi Beth, this doesn’t totally solve the graphics issue. PETS OF THE PRESIDENTS isn’t cutesy and the historic photographs don’t print bright and crisp. Graphics are definitely an issue when selling on TpT. It seems like most teachers go ahead and purchase the graphics or use expensive adobe software to prepare their pdfs. It’s an investment I haven’t made yet, so what I’m sending in your e-mail is a free alternative. I’m eager to see how it will sell when it gets close to President’s Day.

  33. Wow, Nancy, that would be so helpful for me. I’d love to have a copy of that. Thank you for your thoughtful and generous gesture. You are a blessing.
    -Sally

  34. If it’s not too late, I’d love a copy too, Nancy. I’ve been pondering opening a TpT store for several years and have just never managed to make that happen. Maybe with your inspiration I’ll finally get around to doing that. Thanks for all the many ways you share your experiences and expertise with the rest of us.

    • Oh Ev, with all your experience, your store is sure to be awesome! I decided to just start one and grow with it as I learn how to do it.

  35. I’d love a copy, Nancy. That is so generous! trishwired@gmail.com Thank you!

  36. Nancy, what a generous offer. I would love to receive a copy of your nonfiction story with footnotes. I like writing nonfiction and I am trying to learn more. Thank you Nancy. I enjoy your blog. You are a great teacher.


Leave a Reply

Categories

