Posted by: nancyisanders | December 12, 2014

Welcome to My World: A Sneak Peek

Cover from Amie 978-1-58997-799-0

I’m excited to give you a sneak peek today of what’s been happening in my world this last year. A brand new set of beginning readers is about to be born! BIBLE FAVORITES, the first set in the ONE SENTENCE STORYBOOKS series is preparing for release in January/February 2015!

It’s been a busy week this past week here at my house and at my publisher’s. I wanted to share a little bit of the inside story of what goes on behind getting a new book series launched.

* I finished preparing a blog post they will post on the publisher’s blog to coincide with the books’ release.
* The publisher e-mailed and said they recorded an audio version of the books this week. (Now THAT’S exciting.)
* My main editor e-mailed and said she might be in my area around the time of the books’ release–maybe we could get together?!!!!!!
* Marketing e-mailed and said let’s schedule a phone call in January to discuss marketing ideas
* We tossed around some ideas for building the books’ website so it’s ready to launch when the books are released.
* The publisher sent me a near-final copy of the book’s cover so I can post it here on my blog and also on a page I’m building on one of my sites, Bookzone, where I list my published books.

Whew! And as if that wasn’t enough, I decided to start building some of my author’s platform to support the books’ launch as well. Because this new series is all about teaching kids to read, I decided to post material for sale in our store, Teacher Plus Writer, on Teachers Pay Teachers that teachers can use to help students learn to read. In the blurb for these products I give a plug for ONE SENTENCE STORYBOOKS.

So with all that going on, I’m happy to introduce PHONICS MERRY-GO-ROUND games to the world! These printable board games help young children get excited and get reading while playing fun games. You can see the sample of one of them below.

One of the things I wanted to share with you about this is that it was a little bit tricky for me to figure out which standards my PHONICS MERRY-GO-ROUND games support for the Common Core. So here’s a tip. If you’re having trouble figuring this out, just search on Teachers Pay Teachers for products similar to yours that say they support the Common Core. Then look up those standards that they support and see if your product supports that same standards as well.

If you’re seriously considering posting material to Teacher’s Pay Teachers, my sweet writing friend, Tina Cho, mentioned on her recent blog that she might be giving tips out on this. (Way to go, Tina!) So if you don’t yet, sign up to follow Tina’s blog. She’s a Christian, she’s a teacher, she’s a homeschooling mama, she’s a blogger who shares, and she’s a published writer. What better combination can you ask for?

But now it’s back to the nonfiction stories we’re preparing to submit to Kaeden. Watch for this in my next post!

Phonics Merry-Go-Round Chick

Responses

  1. Woo hoo…congratulations! Merry Christmas!

  2. Congratulations on the new publication! The phonics games look like fun.

  3. Congratulations, Nancy! That beginning readers series with only ONE sentence looks super cute. And the phonics game is adorable, too. Does that go with the Bible beginning readers? And again, thanks for the shout out.

    • Thanks, Tina, Sydney, and Donna! And no, Tina, these games don’t go with the Bible beginning readers. The publisher will probably offer supportive material on the website they’re building for the books. But these phonics games are for parents and teachers with kids at that same reading level as the One Sentence Storybooks.

  4. Wow, wow, wow, Nancy! Such exciting news. Love the new book series cover.


Leave a Reply

Categories

