Posted by: nancyisanders | December 29, 2014

Writing Opportunity: Manuscript Submission Prep

It’s time to prepare our manuscript for submission to Kaeden Books! Yay!

First thing we want to do is double check their submission guidelines.

Let’s take a look at their SUBMISSION PROCEDURES.

A. They need a hard copy. This means we will print out our manuscripts and mail in an envelope to them.

1. They need our name, phone number, and page number on each page.
The easiest way to do this is put this all in the header. (Don’t type this into the actual manuscript itself, open the header/footer area and type in there. If you don’t know how to do this, google how to create a header in your version of your word processing program.)

I also added the title of my book in the header, too. Here’s what it looked like in my header:

My Name-Phone Number-Title (on the top left) page number (top right)

I opted NOT to include this header on my first page however because of the way I formatted my manuscript. (I followed the standard format recommended by SCBWI.)

On the first page, I typed my contact info single spaced at the top left:
My name
Address
City, State Zip
e-mail
phone number
website

Then about 2/3 down the page, I typed the title of my manuscript and my name in the center, double-spaced.

Next I double-spaced the Table of Contents along with the rest of the manuscript. My story actually now starts on page 2 of my manuscript. Go ahead and format your manuscript just like this, too, then print it out and get a 9 x 12 large manila envelope to mail it in.

Here’s a visual of what the first page of my manuscript looks like:

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 11.32.17 AM

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for walking through the steps of getting a book ready to submit! I love how practical your advice is. I have a question about a different type of kid’s fiction, though. My 8yr-old brother has caught the writing bug, and has a few “manuscripts” he wants to get published. By adult standards they wouldn’t pass muster (they’re longer than a picture book but shorter than a chapter book, and meet no specific Common Core standard), but they’re charming in their own little rights and I woul love to find a publshing company to publish them, so he could say he’s a published writer. Do you know of any publishing agencies that would consider kids books written by kids? I wasn’t surewhere to start looking, so I thought I’d ask you.

    • How fun that you’re helping your brother get started! Here is a link to find places that publish books by children. Explore their links and hopefully you’ll find something! http://www.childrensbookguild.org/about-the-guild/faqs/73-where-can-i-get-writing-by-children-published

      • Thank you, this is just what I was looking for! I’ll start discussing options tomorrow with my bro – he came in just now with a very serious face, and set a “publishing discussion” meeting for twelve o’clock tomorrow.
        Thanks again, and God bless!

  2. Thanks, Nancy. I refer to your site often as I’m in the final editing stages of my picture book. Your site is so helpful and easy to navigate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

