Posted by: nancyisanders | January 15, 2015

Book Review: I Can Learn the Bible

_225_350_Book.1448.cover

I Can Learn the Bible
The Joshua Code for Kids: 52 Scriptures Ever Kid Should Know
by Holly Hawkins Shivers
Illustrated by Becka Moor

Summary
The Bible is filled with amazing Scriptures kids can learn from and this awesome book pulls out the top 52. We’re talking build-your-faith-on-the-rock Scriptures. Know-Jesus-loves-you-like-crazy Scriptures. Key-to-salvation Scriptures. There are 52 verses so kids can memorize one each week. Each Scripture is accompanied by a read-aloud devotion families can share together and a short, meaningful prayer to end with.

What I Like
Over my life, there have been several books I have purchased by the caseload and given to everyone I know. I did that with the One Year Bible for years until our church finally started featuring it as the Book of the Month every December so we could all read through the Bible together at the same time each year.

I Can Learn the Bible is one of these books. The Scriptures are so IMPORTANT that they’ve chosen. Scriptures such as Ephesians 2:8-9: “I mean that you have been saved by grace because you believe. You did not save yourselves. It was a gift from God. You cannot brag that you are saved by the work you have done.” And the devotions are so well-written! Not only does the author speak directly to the child, but she does it in such a meaningful, clear, tender and sweet way that the Bible comes alive and Jesus becomes very very real. I want to read this with my future grandkids when they’re here to visit at mealtime. I want to give this book to everyone I know. I’m going to recommend it to my home church to sell as a resource in our family resources room. It will especially make a wonderful gift to new parents at a baby shower. This is one of the best books I’ve come across in a long long time.

-Thanks, BookLook Bloggers for another wonderful free book in exchange for my honest review!

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Responses

  1. Sounds like a really worthwhile book. Thanks for the review. I’m always looking for good books to give to my Sunday school class friends when they have new grandbabies.

  2. I loved your review. It answered many of the questions I ask regarding devotional material for children. I am all for presenting God’s word in a meaningful yet simple way that kids can remember and apply to their lives. I definitely will add this book to my grandchildren’s libraries.


Leave a Reply

Categories

