Posted by: nancyisanders | February 3, 2015

Write a NF Book in Just 3 Weeks: Week 1

3-week calendar

There are three main tasks to focus on today as you’re working on the first draft of your nonfiction picture book.

1) Type up your bibliography.
Many writers save this for last, but I like to do this early in my journey when I’m working on a new book. I just take a stack of books I want to use in my research and build the bibliography right at the start. Often I include a list of all the children’s books I’ve gathered from the library because even if I don’t actually use them for my research, they make great resources to include in the back if I list “Student Resources” or I can recommend them on a website I build if the book gets published. For more tips on creating your bibliography, CLICK HERE.

2) Research 1 hour.
It will really make the actual writing process go much, much better if you pack in at least 1 hour of research every day this week (and next!).

3) Choose Mentor Text
This is the day to decide which nonfiction picture book will be your mentor text. This will be the one you study to learn specific skills about creating a nonfiction picture book. For tips on finding one of Kaeden Book’s nonfiction titles to use as your mentor text, CLICK HERE.

Once you’ve chosen it, type it out word for word. There are so many benefits to doing this.
A) It trains your brain for writing this exact type of book.
B) It helps build your stamina to write this word count when you sit to type it out in one sitting.
C) You can use this Word document to check stats quickly for paragraphs, sections, or pages in the published book for info such as word count and readability level.


Leave a Reply

Categories

