Posted by: nancyisanders | February 4, 2015

Book Review: Psalm 23

_225_350_Book.1488.cover
Psalm 23
Illustrated by Richard Jesse Watson

Summary
This 22-page board book is perfect for little ones to hold. Using the King James Version of the Bible for the text of the 23rd Psalm, artist Richard Jesse Watson illustrates each verse of this Psalm in vibrant colors.

The opening, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want,” shows a close-up of a content lamb in the arms of his shepherd.

“He restoreth my soul,” shows a little girl looking lovingly into a happy lamb’s face.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil,” portrays a modern-day woman with large gold earrings and gold necklace as an angel with large wings that are a covering for a little boy and girl and two lambs.

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,” has a field full of flowers and sweet toddlers. Lambs frolic through the grass while older children fly kites.

What I Like
One of my favorite illustrations in this book is the cover. This same illustration is featured inside the book as the art for the last line of the Psalm. I love the majestic lion watching over the sleeping child with a lamb snuggled in her arms. There are so many images of happy lambs and sweet children and loving shepherds that the art conveys a powerful and precious message. I’m also glad that the KJV is used as I think this will be a nice way to teach a toddler and preschooler to memorize this beloved Psalm. I also like how the entire Psalm is featured altogether on the last page of the book.

-Thanks, BookLook Bloggers for another wonderful free book in exchange for my honest review!

I review for BookLook Bloggers


Leave a Reply

Categories

