Posted by: nancyisanders | February 20, 2015

Write a NF Book in Just 3 Weeks: Submission Time!

kaeden submission IMG_0535

I hope you are having as much fun as I am finishing up your manuscript you’ve been working on so hard these past 3 weeks!

I finally finished mine today, popped it in a big white envelope, wrote the address on the front, and am ready to zip it off to the post office to buy a stamp. I wanted to show you the photo I took to let you see!

So if you’re wrapping up your nonfiction picture book for Kaeden Books today ’cause you’re following the 3-week calendar, today’s a great day to submit it, too!

First go over the submission checklist from the last time we did this to make sure you have all your ducks in a row.

(Especially remember to include your SASE and the extra fun, super-duper strategy I recommend in the cover letter.)

And then get ready…next week we’re going to write out third nonfiction early reader to submit to Kaeden Books…all in one week! So if you’re planning on joining in the fun, be sure to grab a bunch of nonfiction books from your local library this weekend to use as your research.

Then starting in March, we’ll be joining CHABOOCHA (the Chapter Book Challenge!) all month here on my blog to write and submit a chapter book to Kaeden Books.

I’ve decided to use as my mentor text their book THE RED FLYER ROLLER COASTER, one of the books in the series, THE ADVENTURES OF SOPHIE BEAN, so if you want to follow along and use the same mentor text, go ahead and order a copy for yourself to use. When I ordered mine they shipped it right away so you still have time to get it and join in the CHABOOCHA starting in March.

Just remember, Kaeden Books says on their submission guidelines that they “have a particular need for beginning chapter books, unique non-fiction manuscripts, and manuscripts with strong characters that have potential to become a series.” We’re already tackling the nonfiction manuscripts and next on our plate will be beginning chapter book with strong characters that have potential to become a series!

Plus I thought you’d appreciate a look at my hard-working writing buddies who have been sleeping all morning on the couch next to me while I’m working hard to finish up my nonfiction book. Pitterpat–the Snowshoe Siamese– finally woke up to take a bath. (Maybe they finished their manuscripts last night?!!!)

Here they are!

cats on couch IMG_0538


Responses

  1. Hey, Nancy. I was curious if you had received your confirmation post card yet? I sent mine in a day after your post and have yet to receive my self addressed post card. Would seven weeks be usual? Thank you so much.

    • I’m glad you mentioned this, Anita! I was just thinking how I never got mine either. I’m thinking of calling them if I don’t hear from them. Not hearing from a publisher for a rejection is one thing…not even getting a confirmation postcard is a whole different story…

      • I called Kaeden today and talked with the Submissions Dept. The gentleman I spoke with told me that my submission probably had not been opened yet, because they are between editors. He was very encouraging and upbeat, said to hang in there, and not resubmit.

      • Anita, this is AWESOME!!!! I still haven’t called them but have their phone number at my desk to call. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for following through on this and letting us know! Whew! Glad to hear he was so encouraging!!!

  2. Has anyone that submitted to Kaeden heard back from them?

    • I haven’t heard back from them yet either, Anita! Sigh. It seems like some of these publishers take soooooo long. The good news is that a friend just heard from a publisher after several years of silence and offered her a contract! Let us know if you hear anything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

