Posted by: nancyisanders | May 22, 2015

Faith Building Friday: Discernment

My child, don’t lose sight of common sense and discernment. Hang on to them, for they will refresh your soul. They are like jewels on a necklace. They keep you safe on your way, and your feet will not stumble…The Lord is your security. He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap.
-Proverbs 3:21-26

It’s easy to get caught up in the story we are writing and cross the line into writing about ungodly things. The world’s standards are so loose and muddled these days, that it’s hard to discern what is okay to write about and what’s not. It helps to keep in mind that the world’s standards are set up by Satan, himself. God’s standards, however, are all about what’s best for us as His children. As we write and rewrite our manuscripts, let’s try to write for what’s best. Let’s not settle for second rate regarding godliness.

Dear God, please reveal to me the places in my manuscripts that do not give honor to You and Your ways. Give me common sense as I write–the sense to remember the basic truths and principles You teach in Your Word but that the world seems to have forgotten these days. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

___________________________________________________________________________

For more faith-building encouragement as a writer, visit my site, Scribes.

The pocket edition of Scribes: Devotions for Christian Writers is available at Amazon. What a great gift of encouragement to give to your critique group buddies and writer friends!


Responses

  1. Thank you, Nancy. A simple sweet message of truth.

    • You’re welcome, Mona! Thanks for your kind and encouraging words.

  2. Nancy, I’m enjoying your Friday devotions, especially since I finished your book. I hear it’s a long weekend in your neck of the woods, so enjoy!

    • So glad you’re being blessed by these devotions! And yes! We’ll enjoy our weekend…it’s my 33rd wedding anniversary! Hope you enjoy your weekend, too.

      • Happy anniversary, Nancy and hubby! 🙂

  3. Hi Nancy thank you for the reminder. So true! I always love reading your blogs. So inspiring/ did you get the email I sent you last night?

    • Hi Rachael, yes I got your e-mail…I’m thinking of how to answer your question. Hopefully I’ll have a good idea by tomorrow.

  4. Happy Anniversary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

