Posted by: nancyisanders | June 3, 2015

Chapter Book: Chapter by Chapter Summary

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 12.31.13 PM

The next thing I’m doing to learn from my mentor text is to go through each chapter and write down a little summary of it.

Why?

Because then I want to write a little summary of my own book, chapter by chapter.

Why would I want to do that, even before the book is written?

Because that’s the way I’ve been trained to do it. And I’ve learned it really helps build a stronger book from the get-go.

It’s not always necessary to write a book that way. But when one of my publishers flew me back to their publishing house to attend plotting meetings on 3 early chapter books I would be writing for them, that’s what we did…we worked together and then on my own (to eventually get approved) to write a summary of each of those books, chapter by chapter, before the books were even written.

Wow. That experience taught me a lot.

So how about it? Want to learn how the pros write early chapter books?

Go through and examine our mentor text, Stink #1, and write a little summary of what happens in each chapter. Compare it to the plot chart we made for the book.

Then use your plot chart to help you write a chapter by chapter summary for YOUR book.

At 7 chapters, this is very do-able…and a super-great experience for you to learn as a children’s writer.

But if you don’t want to do this all on your own, don’t panic! Next Thursday June 11 I have a surprise for you!

I’m going to teach a teleclass called:

BOOK TALK: STINK #1: THE INCREDIBLE SHRINKING KID

In that teleclass we’re going to dissect our mentor text including going through a chapter-by-chapter summary of the entire book!

So if you’d like help on this step (plus tons more of exciting stuff that will really help your writing career!) then watch here on my blog for upcoming details about how to sign up for the teleclass.

Leave a Reply

Categories

