Posted by: nancyisanders | June 5, 2015

Teleclass Writing Workshop: Book Talk on Stink #1

DSCN2822

In May, my husband Jeff and I both celebrated our birthdays, so our dear friends took us on a fun Duffy boat ride in the harbor at our local beach and then for a barbecue on the sand. Yum! (Okay, Val, if you’re reading this, your potato salad is awesome!)

While we were tootling around in our boat, we got to watch this amazing show you see in the photo above! Evidently an instructor took a young boy up with him in the air. We were so jazzed to see them blasting off into the air and soaring around over the water!

Sometimes writing is like that. It helps to have an instructor show us the ropes so we can blast off and make our writing soar.

If you’ve been following along with our early chapter book journey, using Stink #1 as our mentor text, then I’d like to invite you to join me in a special telephone workshop I’ll be doing next week for the Working Writer’s Club! I especially asked Suzanne Lieurance, the head of the Working Writer’s Club, if I could present this topic because I think it will really, really help you.

In this teleclass, Book Talk–Stink #1: The Incredible Shrinking Kid, we’re going to talk our way through our mentor text and explore KEY DETAILS it would simply take too long to discuss here on our blog.

We’re going to DISSECT this book. We’re going to explore plot, character, and setting, but most of all, we’re going to DISCOVER KEY STRATEGIES this author uses to make her book a success so you can plug them into your own manuscript and get it published, too.

And when we’re all done talking about key skills you can use to improve your own early chapter book, we’ll talk agents. I’ll share names of agents who are currently looking for new clients in the children’s book market so you can submit your early chapter book straight to the top.

I’ve written for 3 early chapter book series at this point in my career. One of the series I wrote entirely on my own and it was my own idea (5 books). The second one I collaborated with a co-author (6 books). The third series I was chosen from a line-up of wannabe authors to contribute to (5 books). And my agent is currently marketing a brand new early chapter book series to publishers as we speak.

Why am I telling you this? Because I want to share with you what I’ve learned to get my chapter books published so you can get yours published too. The strategies you’ll learn during this teleclass will give you the skills you need to help you experience success.

I hope you’ll sign up today! You can join me live next Thursday, June 11 at 2:00 PST or if you can’t do that you will get the audio replay after it’s recorded.

(If you’re not yet a member of the Working Writer’s Club, be sure you sign up (it’s free) before you pay for the teleclass because members get a special 50% off discount!)

CLICK HERE to register at the Working Writers Club today!


Responses

  1. Nancy, in one word…WOW! This was a great workshop. I learned soooo much from you! Thanks so much for the valuable information!!!

    • You’re welcome, Mary. And thank you for joining in on the telelcass…I’m so glad you got registered in time!!!!

  2. Nancy, I’m sorry I’m so late with this, but I wanted to say a big THANK YOU for the wonderful webinar. I learned more in that one hour than I did in a 2-day local workshop I had taken the weekend before. I love, love the lessons you are teaching here on your blog, also and so appreciate your willingness to share your knowledge.

    • Cheryl, you blessed my socks off by saying this!!! I’m sorry you didn’t get much from your local workshop, but am thrilled this teleclass was just what you needed! Thanks so much for taking the time to give me feedback on what this webinar offered to you! Plus I’m so glad this blog is helping you along your writing journey, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

