Posted by: nancyisanders | June 20, 2015

Welcome to My World

DSCN2959

You may have noticed it was a little quiet on my blog this last week. That’s because we went on a mini-vacation WITHOUT my laptop, lol!

Among other things, we traveled up to Whitney Portal, CA which is where there is a trailhead to climb Mt. Whitney, the tallest mountain peak in the Continental US.

DSCN2961

Mt. Whitney is the peak to the right of the “twin” peaks. You can see it in the photo above. We didn’t hike the 14 miles or so to the top but we did enjoy hiking a little bit up the trail and also around the campground/parking lot area where there is this gorgeous, beautiful waterfall!

DSCN2956

Why am I sharing all this with you?

Because I decided that this summer I’m journaling in a SETTING notebook. I took a small spiral notebook that’s easy to carry as we travel. I’m decorating it so it’s fun, fun, fun to carry around and write in (I’ll show you a picture of it when I’m done.)

But most important of all, I’m writing in my notebook about the setting I’m in when I travel to different places. I’m including pages of the sensory details around me:

Sight
Sound
Smell
Hearing
Taste

I’m also jotting down fascinating facts I discover and observations I make and conversations I hear and the culture I engage in.

Not only do I plan to use these places and impressions in potential upcoming manuscripts, but this is really helping me improve my setting skills in general.

And here’s an extra perk if you opt to do this, too. Talk with your tax guy and ask if you can use any and every trip you take as a tax write-off for your business expenses because you are using it as setting research.

Responses

  1. This is a great idea! I was trying to write about a sunrise the other week and realized it would good to get a pad and go outside some morning…if I can just keep the dogs quiet. šŸ™‚

    • Oh I love this idea about the sunrise! And I hope your poochie pals can enjoy it, too, lol.

  2. I’ve started to carry a sketch book and am adding to it each day. My blog focuses on books, places, and books that take you places so I definitely pay attention to settings.

    • Oh wonderful!!! What an amazing addition to your days!


Leave a Reply

Categories

