Posted by: nancyisanders | October 7, 2015

Nonfiction for Children’s Magazines: The Topic

DSCN3764

I hope you’re going to join me in writing a nonfiction article to submit to a children’s magazine. Or if you’re not going to actually write one right now because your schedule is too jam-packed, you can at least follow along to see the steps I take as a working writer so when you’re ready to write your nonfiction article, you can use these to follow as a guide.

One of the main reasons I wanted to write a nonfiction article right now is because I have a TOPIC I want to write about.

For example, I’ve written nonfiction articles for this magazine before. One of my favorites was called BLUE RIBBON MAMA where I shared with kids why a mother alligator should get the Mother’s Day award for being such a good mama! (Do you like the great sign I saw about alligators when we were down in Texas a couple of weeks ago for the NF4NF Conference?! I just had to take a picture of it.)

Where did I get my idea for my topic?

I have been working on a nonfiction picture book. I had just researched a topic I had never researched before. While this information was fresh in my mind, I wanted to use it for something else and get extra mileage for all the hard work I’ve been doing.

Plus, one of my critique group buddies (you know who you are!) had suggested I use a portion of my manuscript that didn’t seem to fit (yes, I had to cut it…ouch!) and recycle it as part of an article for this particular children’s magazine.

So I’m taking her advice and doing it!

All that to say, do you have a TOPIC you’d like to write about for a nonfiction article in a children’s magazine?

If so, great!

If not, go ahead and pick 1-3 potential ideas.

*Perhaps you’ve already researched a topic and would like to get extra mileage from all the hard work you did on that topic.

*Perhaps you’re working on a book manuscript right now that needs research on a certain topic but you just haven’t gotten around to doing that research yet. You could choose that topic to write about in a nonfiction magazine article, research that topic, and then use that research in your book manuscript, too.

*Perhaps you have no clue what you’d like to write about.

No worries! We’ll be talking about topics in an upcoming post so hang in there and see if our discussion will jumpstart some ideas for you! I’ll tell you the name of the magazine I’m writing for, too, so you can see if your topic is a good fit for that same magazine, too.

Responses

  1. I’ll be following along, but not joining in. Love the sign. What a hoot, Nancy! 🙂

  2. Following along and joining in! What fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

