Posted by: nancyisanders | October 8, 2015

A Special Day

HPIM8619

Do you know what today is? It’s a special day! A brand new event!

It’s Bring Your Bible to School Day!

When I found out that this was the second year in a row that this event is being hosted all across America, I wished I had a school I could go to just to take part! But then I heard folks talking about how we could bring our Bible to Facebook or to our blogs, so I got excited about joining in on the fun.

You see, when I was a kid, I remember staying inside for recess one day in my fifth grade homeroom. I grew up in PA and it must have been too cold to go out that day. My teacher was sitting at her desk reading.

I loved my teacher, Mrs. Bryant, and I loved reading, so I sidled up next to her at her desk and asked her what she was reading. “My Bible,” she gently explained. “I love to read it every day.”

Wow.

That impacted me big time. So much so that when I got to junior high and became a Christian, I started to read my Bible every day, too. And I got such a hunger for reading the Bible that it was only natural for me to carry it in my backpack and read it any time I had a break, too. The Bible encouraged me. It helped me through many difficult days. It reassured me of God’s love for me. It taught me right from wrong.

In fact, many of my friends would see me reading my Bible at school and would ask about it. I’d share with them something wonderful I was reading and they’d get encouraged, too.

I never thought about it…it was just a natural part of my growing up. I carried my Bible with me all the way up through high school, too. I carried it with me when I was in college. And when I was working as a camp counselor for public school outdoor education, I carried it with me to read on my breaks as well. In fact, my husband shares how before we discovered we liked each other, he always knew I was nearby when he’d see my Bible on one of the little end tables in the break room. (He was my boss, lol.)

I still read my Bible every day. It feeds me. It sustains me. And still after all these years it encourages me and shines a light on the dark path in front of me. It defines me as a writer and as a person in this crazy world today.

So in honor of today’s event, I thought I’d share a couple of my favorite verses with you. And if you’d like to join in the celebration, post some of your favorite Scriptures on your social media sites, too!

Oh, how I love Your law!
It is my mediation all the day.
-Psalm 119:97

Your word is a lamp to my feet
and a light to my path.
-Psalm 119:105

Happy BRING YOUR BIBLE TO SCHOOL day!

DSCN1893

(Here’s a photo of my cat Pitterpat trying to choose which Bible story book she’d like to take today!)


Responses

  1. Hi Nancy, I want to thank you for posting this today. I had my day all planned out, but God had other plans. I just wrote and posted this on my blog and added your blog post link. I want others to read about your awesome testimony too. Thank you –>http://tracycampbell.net/blog/today-special/

    • Tracy, don’t you just love it when God orders our day in ways we never even imagined?! Thanks for spreading the word!

      • No, thank you, Nancy. And I do love it when God orders our days…now I’m way behind my imposed schedule to draw. LOL 🙂

  2. What a great idea for a special day. Thanks for sharing the story of your teacher’s gentle influence.

  3. This is a wonderful post, Nancy. I have been promoting Bring Your Bible to School Day for the past few weeks and I’d love to share your post as well.

    • Great, Sally! I’m so glad you’ve been promoting it for so long!

  4. Great idea to share this on the blog! How neat to know a snippet of how you and Jeff met!

    • Thanks, Tina!!! And glad you liked a little peek into how we met…we’ve been married for 33 years!

  5. I had no idea there was a day dedicated to this. . .Thank the Lord!

    • Yes! Mark it on your calendar for next year!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

