Posted by: nancyisanders | October 19, 2015

Nonfiction for Children’s Magazines: Surprise

DSCN2625

Can you imagine hiking through the woods and coming across a couch and re-used dumpster filled with goodies to eat (including a bag of fresh oranges?!)? That’s what my husband Jeff and I found when we were hiking a short distance along the Pacific Crest Trail in the mountains. What a surprise!!!!!!

Well today I have a surprise for you!

We’re trekking forward on our journey to write a nonfiction article for a children’s magazine. You’re invited to follow along as I prepare and write one for Clubhouse Jr.

And guess what?! I spoke with my editor there and she was so gracious to help us out.

First of all, she said that I could share with all of you that, “Our greatest need in the non-fiction category is true stories about ordinary kids doing extraordinary things. We also publish well-researched nature features.”

Plus, she said that when you submit your manuscript to Clubhouse Jr., you can mention in your cover letter that you followed along here on my blog to write your manuscript.

Now isn’t that exciting news?!!!! I could hardly wait to share this with you. Plus, I’ll remind you about this when we get ready to submit.

In upcoming posts, I’ll be sharing about 3 different formats of nonfiction I’ve written and gotten published with them so you can choose which format you’d like to write as well.

Responses

  1. It really is wonderful of you to share this journey with us, Nancy! Thanks! You are our bag of oranges and couch on this hike. 🙂

    • Te he he. You made me laugh today, Beth! Thanks for your encouraging words that brought a smile to my day.

  2. Thanks for sharing the information from the Clubhouse editor!

  3. Wow! What a surprise indeed. Thank you Nancy so much for the opportunity. Sadly, I finished the course Writing for Magazines from The Institute of Children’s Literature 5 years ago, but I haven’t been able to get anything published. Bumples magazine liked one of my fiction stories but unfortunately they closed. I have several non-fiction manuscripts and all have been rejected.
    I am so looking forward to following this!
    Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

    Cheryl

    • Oh Cheryl, that is sad news. But I’ll be praying you have GLAD news soon with an acceptance and a contract!!!! So glad you’re following along on this journey.

  4. Nancy, you are gracious in more ways than one, to share this info with us, and to tell Cheryl Tuskes, you will pray for her to get published. You’re such a sweetheart.

  5. That’s fabulous news. Thank you for always sharing with us Nancy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

