Posted by: nancyisanders | October 23, 2015

Faith Building Fridays: Think


The godly think before [writing];
the wicked spout evil words.
-Proverbs 15:28, NLT

Before we sit down to write today, let’s first stop and take time to think. Let’s open the Bible and meditate upon God’s Word. Let’s pray and ask God to guide us to write words that are good and helpful and kind. Let’s dedicate our writing project today to God for Him to use to bring refreshment, renewal, and restoration.

Dear God, I would rather never write again than be like the wicked and spout evil words. Remind me each day to think and pray about what I am going to write before I sit down at the computer. Whether I write for the Christian market or for the general market, please help me write words based on godliness and truth. In Jesus’s name. Amen.

___________________________________________________________________________

For more faith-building encouragement as a writer, visit my site, Scribes.

Scribes: Devotions for Christian Writers is available at Amazon. What a great gift of encouragement for you to have to start a brand new year as a writer! Add it to your Christmas wish list today.


Responses

  1. Yes, Nancy, this is so helpful and important. When i got back from the NF4NF conference last month, my Bible study group was discussing the role of the Holy Spirit in our Catholic lives. I realize that i pray, but I was not praying to the Holy Spirit for that guidance that is ready and waiting for us. Now I pray daily for that guidance before I write. Thank you for this specific prayer. I will copy it down and say it too every day.

    • Hi Rosie, it was so nice to hear from you today. I’m so glad you’re praying and committing your writing to God even more!!!!

      • Nancy, you have changed my life. Since NF4NF I am devoting 20 hours a week to writing and using the Writing Pyramid schedule and the Triple Crown of Success as my guide, as I have and am gleaning from my “other” ‘bible’ YES! YOU CAN LEARN HOW TO WRITE CHILDREN’S BOOKS, GET THEM PUBLISHED, AND BUILD A SUCCESSFUL WRITING CAREER. I have not perfected my technique at this but am making real progress. Thank you for showing me a way to do this instead of stabbing in the dark with pb submissions into unknown spaces! You are a wonder!

      • Oh Rosie, thanks for sharing this! I’m so glad for you and so glad for ME, too, for having met you and been blessed by your enthusiasm for writing!!!!

  2. Thanks for this thought today, Nancy. It was just what I needed. I have a hard email letter I need to write, and I’m praying for wisdom on how to say things in a way that get accomplished the things that haven’t been happening that need to, but do not, in the process, cause damage to the relationship.

    • Praying for you, dear friend, today!


Leave a Reply

Categories

