Posted by: nancyisanders | November 19, 2015

Nonfiction Picture Book Journey

DSCN2959

Ever since I attended Pat Miller’s amazing NF4NF Conference in Houston last September, I’ve been inspired to focus on nonfiction.

I mean, I’ve always loved writing nonfiction and have published numerous nonfiction books. But right now I feel totally immersed in this world and I’m loving every minute of it.

Some exciting things I wanted to share with you as a result of this include an upcoming 4-session audio workshop that I’ve been working on to help YOU be a successful writer of nonfiction for kids, too. You’ll be the first to know when it’s available for release. (Hopefully in December!)

Another exciting bit of news is that I’ve got a new contract in the works…for nonfiction of course! It will be one of the biggest projects I’ve ever done in my career. I’ll let you know about that soon, too, but for now it’s still under wraps.

But here’s the most exciting thing I wanted to share with you today. I’ve decided here on my blog to invite you in on my journey as I’m targeting a specific nonfiction publisher to submit to…Charlesbridge!

I love Charlesbridge picture books. Especially their nonfiction picture books. I’ve ordered in stacks lately and have picked out some of my favorites!

But before we get started on our new adventure, I wanted to wrap up something we’ve talked a lot about on my blog over this past year.

UPDATE ON KAEDEN BOOKS

If you’ve been following along on my blog this past year, you may have written and submitted a manuscript to Kaeden Books as I did. Unfortunately, like others of you who have contacted me about this, I’ve never heard from them. Not even to return my post card to confirm that they got my manuscript.

One of my blog followers actually called them and asked about this and Kaeden said they are back-logged about opening the stack of submissions.

(A side note…you’ll still hear stories of writers who get contracts offered a couple of years after a submission because the publisher finally got around to opening and following through with it.)

I just wanted to update you on that bit of info.

ON TO CHARLESBRIDGE

But now let’s look ahead. Charlesbridge publishes beautiful nonfiction picture books. And what’s the best thing about this for us as nonfiction writers?

They accept unsolicited manuscripts! CLICK HERE to check out their submission guidelines.

So in the days and weeks and perhaps even months ahead, I’m going to explore Charlesbridge and work on submitting a manuscript to them. I plan on taking my time and enjoying a leisurely stroll into their world.

I’m inviting you to join me in the journey. We’ll have so much fun along the way! We’ll dissect some of their fantastic nonfiction picture books and get to know their editors and discover a whole new list of wonderful picture books to love.

And this will all help us grow as writers. Especially as nonfiction writers for kids.

I hope you’ll come along!

Responses

  1. Thank you for invitation. It sounds wonderful. I look forward to joining you and the others on this journey.

    • It’s great you’re coming along, Kathleen!

  2. I’m in! Thank you, Nancy.

  3. Oh Nancy, Nonfiction is my favorite place to be. I will venture along with you. Thank you!

    • Mona, it sounds like you’ve gotten bitten by the nonfiction bug, too!

  4. Congratulations on your new project, Nancy! I can’t wait to hear the update about the audio workshop and what you’re working on.

    • Thank you so much. I’ll keep you posted!

  5. Looking forward to joining your venture. Charlesbridge publishes Melissa Stewart and Christine Liu-Perkins.

    • Yes! What great mentor texts to use, too!!!

  6. Hi, Nancy,
    I found this blog today through 12×12 which I just joined Fe. 28. What a delight! I know what a treasure you are and so generous with your support of baby writers like me. I am looking forward to catching up with your work on your blog!
    Hugs from Houston,
    Carmela

    • So nice to connect! Best wishes with your writing journey!!!!!! Hugs to you, Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

