Posted by: nancyisanders | December 18, 2015

Faith Building Fridays: Today

pict0850

If you wait for perfect conditions,
you will never get anything done.
-Ecclesiastes 11:4, NLT

The kids are little. The bills need to be paid. We’ve got a cold. The dog chewed up a pencil and left its shredded pieces on the rug. Life is busy and often seems out of control. If we wait for it to slow down so we can have one hour of uninterrupted time to write, we’ll probably never write a word. Learn to carry a notebook wherever you go to work on a manuscript if you suddenly find yourself with 15 minutes of free time. Carry your manuscript around in your head and develop the plot of your next scene while you’re washing the dishes or wrapping gifts. Snatch 15 minutes here and a chunk of time in between there. Learn to write anywhere and at any time. Focus on writing one word at a time until you have enough to fill a book.

Dear Father, please help me learn the importance of writing…today. Help me manage my time so that I write new words on my manuscript…today. No matter how busy life is or how many things are going on, help me stop making excuses. I don’t want to wait so long that I miss my opportunity to write…today.

Responses

  1. Nancy, inspiring post and prayer. I’m printing it and taping it into my journal. Wishing you and your family a blessed Christmas and Happy New Year! Best, Donna

    • Merry Christmas, Donna! Praying you’ll find all the time you want to write in the year ahead. Hugs to you.

  2. As my husband signs me up for more duties in his home business, I am feeling the sentiments you expressed here: out-of-control. Thank you for giving me tools to carve out some writing time.

    • I’m so glad this is helping you find writing time in the midst of busy life stuff!

  3. Love faith-building Fridays. So encouraging. We need it in the present with so much bad news like the San Bern. killings etc. Jan

    • So glad you are being encouraged, Jan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

