Posted by: nancyisanders | February 17, 2016

NF PB Journey

clothesline-clues-to-jobs-people-do-cvr_large

CLOTHESLINE CLUES TO JOBS PEOPLE DO
by Kathryn Heling and Deborah Hembrook
Art by Andy Robert Davies

I’ve been reading oodles of nonfiction and fiction picture books published recently by Charlesbridge. If you’ve been following along with my leisurely journey to target Charelsbridge as a potential publisher, I hope you are too.

 

I’ve been listing them in my A-Z journal I’ve made for a reading log of Charlesbridge titles. And now I have my favorites! Today and in upcoming posts I’m going to share the rubric I’ve filled out for the ones that are tops in my opinion.

 

The first book is CLOTHESLINE CLUES TO JOBS PEOPLE DO. This is an informational book. I used the NF Picture Book Rubric even though in the art it has a fictional story arc. The text is all about community helpers and their jobs so this rubric fit better, I felt, even though it’s not straight nonfiction.

 

I absolutely love this book. It’s simple yet so effective to engage  young readers in a very interactive way as they learn about community helpers. Plus, to extend the learning beyond the book I could just see teachers hanging a clothesline in their room and changing the different outfits hanging on it to have kids guess which community helper they would discuss each day!

Clothesline Clues Rubric


Leave a Reply

Categories

