Posted by: nancyisanders | February 23, 2016

NF PB Journey

22748011

Trapped! A Whale’s Rescue
by Robert Burleigh
Art by Wendell Minor
Published by Charlesbridge

I just have to say right up front that this is one of the most beautiful children’s books I’ve read. The tender story of this gentle giant accompanied by the beautiful and sensitive paintings makes this a treasure you want to share with children again and again.

And I know I’m not alone in my opinion. Our local library, who normally owns 1 or 2 copies of any given picture book, owns 12 copies of this gem in its collection!!! Stats like that should make our author’s ears perk up to want to dig into this title…what makes this book so special?

It’s the story of a humpback whale who gets trapped in fishing nets. Based on a true story, the informative text is accompanied by helpful and engaging back matter, too.

This book is definitely worthy of choosing as a mentor text if you want to write nonfiction/informative text picture books for Charlesbridge.

Here’s my rubric I filled out on it! CLICK HERE to get your own blank rubric to fill out for this book and nonfiction titles you read.

Trapped Rubric

Responses

  1. Thanks for a new title for me to look for. And really thanks for sharing your rubric. I live overseas, so I really appreciate your wisdom that you share on the craft of writing.

    • You’re welcome! So glad you’re finding this helpful. I have other friends who live oversea and know how tricky getting resources can be!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

