Posted by: nancyisanders | July 18, 2016

Oldie But Goodie: Break Into the Market–Now!

Are you dreaming of writing for a publisher? Don’t just sit and dream about it. Do something about it!

Nearly every publisher big or small, magazine or book, has an “easier” way to get your foot in the door. Sure, they get a mile-high slush pile from wannabe writers who submit for their featured fiction articles or fabulous novels, but most don’t get enough submissions for their nitty gritty departmental needs.

I’ve been published in Pockets magazine, Star Wars for Kids, and Better Homes and Gardens! Was it because of my great awesome talent as a writer? I think not. It was because I was willing to roll up my sleeves and write for the little corners and spots where they needed new ideas on a constant basis.

I wrote puzzles for Pockets, games for Star Wars for Kids, and crafts for Better Homes and Gardens. Now, don’t get me wrong. I am not a puzzle-writer, game-inventor, craft-designer kind of gal! I wanna write the big stuff–articles and stories and books and “important” manuscripts!

But as I have worked to establish myself as a writer with a successful writing career, I have studied various publishers and looked for ways to break into the market. I looked for fillers they might need a lot of on a regular basis. I searched their writers’ guidelines for departments that said were mostly freelance written. I looked for numbers that said they needed a lot of these kinds of submissions each year. So even though the types of manuscripts, genre, or topics weren’t necessarily my cup of tea, I studied up on them and submitted to the various publishers.

And landed contracts.

You can, too!

Responses

  1. Nancy, your posts are always so uplifting and encouraging. Thanks so much for all the work you do and share so generously. God bless you! And, me too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

