Posted by: nancyisanders | July 20, 2016

Oldie But Goodie: Work for Hire–Now!

Here’s another oldie but goodie from the past on my blog. I hope it helps you on your own writing journey today!

If you go to a writer’s conference or read a writer’s magazine or talk with other writers, you’ll hear a variety of opinions about writing on work-for-hire projects.

So today you get to hear mine! Smile.

My first book contract was a work-for-hire project. So was my second book contract and my third and I think my fourth and my fifth.

And I’m glad they were. To a brand new writer like I was, the structure and training a work-for-hire project provide landed me on solid ground as a writer. Work-for-hire projects are usually under tight deadlines. You’re forced to write. Work-for-hire projects usually come with unbelievably detailed writer’s guidelines. You’re forced to examine punctuation details and spelling preferences and word count. Work-for hire projects have to fit a certain series as tight as a glove. You’re forced to step out of your fairy tale castle wanna-be-a-writer world to learn the nitty gritty details of writing what an editor wants.

And the amazing thing was that as I listed more and more published books on my resume, whenever I contacted an editor for a royalty-based, stuff-of-your-dreams kind of book contract, that editor didn’t come back to say, “Stop! Were those books you’ve written work-for-hire?”

No. On the contrary. The editor would say, “Wow! You’ve published ten books! We want to sign a contract with you, too!” Wahoo!

In fact, I still write books for work-for-hire in between my sweet royalty-based dream books. It’s good training for me as a writer and an extra perk is that it gives me quick cash to pay my bills.

So, how do you land a work-for-hire book contract? If you haven’t yet had many books published, start with small publishers. Step out of your favorite genre and look for something you think you can write rather than for something that you want to write. Get out of your box and look around at what’s out there for work-for-hire writers.

Sunday School curriculum, school library books on animals or science or personal profiles, craft or puzzle books, recipes books, gift books, books about pet care, how-to books. Look for books that don’t make it to the New York Times best-seller list but are written to meet the everyday needs of ordinary people.

Google their publishers and look them up in market guides. Search the publishers’ websites for information about how to contact them for work-for-hire projects. It might take some searching. Often, first find a little link and click “Contact us” and then click another little link that says “Submissions.” When you find an actual editor’s name, only contact those who list an e-mail address. State simply in your initial e-mail that you are interested in writing for their work-for-hire projects. Tell them you’d be interested in sending them a writing sample.

One thing I’ve noticed is that some work-for-hire publishers ask for a writing sample. I’ve sent these in and don’t land a contract. I think it’s because what I’ve already written doesn’t match the style they are looking for. So instead, I tell the editor that I’d prefer sending in an original writing sample that I write for a topic and series she’d like to give me. Then I’m writing something for her exact need and she can better see if it’s what she’s looking for.

So–have some fun! Go out there and start a new journey today. Make it your goal to land a work-for-hire contract! And then another!


Leave a Reply

Categories

